Need Help with Piston Boot replacement on Rear Caliper

mrose75

Established Member
I replaced my rear pads and rotors yesterday (Waaaaaaay overdue). I had t done it on the Cobra before so I took my time with it in the driver's side with you tube up and what not. Once I figured it all out I swapped over to the passenger side and was breezing through it. Not rushing but confident since I had been successful on the driver's side. As I was finishing up pressing the piston in I believe I accidentally torn the piston boot. I don't think it was damaged before. So I order a caliper rebuild kit from RockAuto but can't seem to find any DIYs or video to should how to do this on the Cobra. Anyone have a DIY? I'm assuming from what I was able to find from other model cars that I'll have to take it off the car, thus requiring a bleed and all of that as well. Any pointers would be appreciated, I'm a complete newb at brakes.

Woody6799

Established Member
I will try to find the how to I used but its really simple.

Take the caliper off the car completely, Place a sponge or something soft inside where the pads go, shoot compressed air from the bango bolt hole into the pistons, remove pistons, replace parts, smother parts in brake fluid and slide them back in. That's the basics. Anything outside that I am sure you will figure it out. I did it this winter.

I will search for that thread though

found it: http://www.svtperformance.com/forum...ange-seals-boots-on-your-front-brake-calipers

Reading fail :nonono: just saw this is for rear calipers. my bad....

Last edited:

mrose75

Established Member
Yeah, I found that one. But those twisting pistons are tripping me up. Thanks though.

03' White Snake

Established Member