New Engine installed (strange sound art 1500-2000 RPM?)

9secondko

9secondko
Established Member
I have been saving my poor pennies for nearly two years to get a new engine in my car (reman Ford). Finally had it done. Great work by the shop. They seem to have gone the extra mile.

While putting in the engine, I had a brand new Centerforce Dual Friction clutch, Fidanza aluminum flywheel, Ford Racing pilot bearing, Lethal throwout bearing and retainer sleeve put in.

I have driven about 150 miles of breaking it in so far with 850 miles to go. Very light throttle, ginger driving. No boost.

I seem to be experience a strange sound or two at 1500-2000 RPM.

It sounds like "clutch rattle" or "chatter." Not sure about these clutches. It is a faint sound (this sound only occurs when driving with my foot letting off the clutch or off the clutch completely at low RPM.). However, once that sound passes, i hear an a similar sound, but up higher (this happens exactly from 1500-2000 RPM). Not around the shifter area. The engine light came on after 140 miles or so and the car is now parked. I did not spend all that money just to have problems. So I called the shop and they asked me to bring it in so they can read the codes.

I cannot do so until next week, so I am borrowing a vehicle.

My question is, do any of you running a Centerforce DF have that slight rattle sound?

And does anyone have an engine noise at 1500 RPM?

I was worried about detonation, but I was told that can only happen under load?

Any ideas?

As I have said before, I am no mechanic. A computer guy by trade. LOL

Thanks for any input.

Last edited:

9secondko

9secondko
Established Member
Rev it into those rpms where the noise is occuring without the clutch engage and see if it makes the same noise.

I did do that.

I don't get the minor clutch chatter, but I do get a similar, subtler sound at 1500 RPM when the car is in neutral.

When driving, the clutch makes noise as soon as I begin disengaging.