New Guy: 08 GT500 Upgrade Questions

Gt500Coop

Established Member
Hello. Ive been lurking for a while and figured I would finally register and ask some questions about my car. I have an 08 Shelby and I am in the process of doing some upgrades this winter. I currently have an 08 GT500 with HPtuners and have tuned for my JLT 123mm CAI. I have these parts currently on my build list for the winter:

-Innovators 10% Overdrive
-L&M 66mm throttlebody
-Upper supercharger pulley yet to be determined
-Magnaflow catback exhaust

My problem is I am just learning how to tune boosted applications and I dont want to blow up my engine if I make a mistake. With the upgrades above what would a safe supercharger pulley and how much boost would that be with the overdrive pulley?

Also is anyone on here familiar with Hptuners and would be willing to lend any advice on what I need to concentrate on adjusting to account for the increase in boost?

Thank You

VNMOUS1

Established Member
On your 08 the issue isn't going to be boost but fueling. A 2.50 and 10 pct is about 18psi at sea level.

You need at least 56# injectors and a pair of fuel pump boosters (sales pitch... Everything at vmptuning.com is on sale through Mon night)

The 123mm is probably the most popular cai for 07-12 GT500's so the transfer function is certainly out there in the wild. Depending on your ultimate goals you may want to go larger on the injectors. We like Injector Dynamics a ton.

Bj

Gt500Coop

Established Member
Not really looking at getting too crazy with it. My budget is pretty much maxed at this point. If I run say a 2.7 upper will I still have to do injectors and boosters? Or maybe just leave the factory upper and run the 10% lower? Just trying to get some more efficiency out of the stock eaton while utilizing the factory fuel system.

breoland

Established Member