• Welcome to SVTPerformance!

New motor, crank but no start

Discussion in 'Engine/Tuning' started by grabber5oh, Mar 6, 2017.

  1. grabber5oh

    grabber5oh Member Established Member

    Messages:
    33
    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2014
    Location:
    Muncie
    2013 Turbo Coyote auto, installed a newer shortblock and heads, had a grounding issue with the starter and that's fixed, now I hear the fuel pump build up once key is on, and I go to crank and it just turns and turns and it wont fire, I'm pretty sure its not getting any fuel and spark...what should I do?
     

    Attached Files:

    • car.jpg
      car.jpg
      File size:
      99.3 KB
      Views:
      59
  2. nxhappy

    nxhappy Well-Known Member Established Member

    Messages:
    9,359
    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2006
    Location:
    AZ
    first, check for fuel pressure at the fuel rails....if no pressure, check the fuel pump
     
  3. grabber5oh

    grabber5oh Member Established Member

    Messages:
    33
    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2014
    Location:
    Muncie


    there was some fuel squirting out from my injector not seated properly
     
  4. nxhappy

    nxhappy Well-Known Member Established Member

    Messages:
    9,359
    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2006
    Location:
    AZ
    you still need to measure the actual fuel pressure. It may be a bad fuel pump. Also on a hunch, did you check all of the fuses ?
     
  5. NastyNate420

    NastyNate420 Member Established Member

    Messages:
    930
    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2009
    Location:
    Jersey Shore
    PATS .....crank sensor
     
  6. grabber5oh

    grabber5oh Member Established Member

    Messages:
    33
    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2014
    Location:
    Muncie

    all fuses checked out great! no cel, and il have to look into the fuel pressure but it seems to be very normal
     
  7. grabber5oh

    grabber5oh Member Established Member

    Messages:
    33
    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2014
    Location:
    Muncie
    I know of the crank sensor, whats PATS?

    also the 4 cam sensors on the head do they have to be in a certain order?
     
  8. grabber5oh

    grabber5oh Member Established Member

    Messages:
    33
    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2014
    Location:
    Muncie
    anyone?????
     
  9. sur_real1

    sur_real1 I Am The Organizer Established Member

    Messages:
    1,386
    Joined:
    May 10, 2006
    Location:
    Seattle
    Do you have access to a Ford VCM and IDS software? Also, I think the HPTuners software will give you what you need for troubleshooting as well. If it's just turning over and not firing, it could be a number of issues... From a sensor not connected, to a fault thinking the throttle is wide open. Would be pretty quick to trouble shoot those issues with VCM and/or HPTuners.

    Since it is turning over, PATs wouldn't be the issue. If PATs was triggered, then the car wouldn't turn over at all. Since it is getting some fuel, I would think it would sputter a little, but if it is just cranking with nothing else happening, maybe you don't have any spark. Maybe you've got a damaged or disconnected sensor somewhere in the harness. Have you checked all of your COP connections to make sure they are plugged in? Could a fuel pump have died or shorted for some reason? Do you have mice :)

    Me personally, if I were troubleshooting this, I'd be plugging in my VCM, running a full network test of all modules to make sure everything is talking to each other. Past that, I would be checking for fuel pressure and spark.
     
  10. sur_real1

    sur_real1 I Am The Organizer Established Member

    Messages:
    1,386
    Joined:
    May 10, 2006
    Location:
    Seattle
    Timing could be a problem too. Are you running stock cams and are they lined up correctly since you had the motor apart?
     
  11. NastyNate420

    NastyNate420 Member Established Member

    Messages:
    930
    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2009
    Location:
    Jersey Shore
    I had my PATS killing The injectors pulse. I spay fuel in the TB and thats how i verified. Shut it off in a tune and I was good to go. Eventually my tuner was able to recover the PATS.
    OP you can trying going into the "engineering test" and list and DTCs that pop up here. Even if the engine light is off you can still have codes logged.
     
  12. NastyNate420

    NastyNate420 Member Established Member

    Messages:
    930
    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2009
    Location:
    Jersey Shore
    Also you need to check for SPARK, FUEL and COMPRESSION....that will tell you where you need to look!
     
  13. WhiTriCobra

    WhiTriCobra PDP Established Member

    Messages:
    2,362
    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2008
    Location:
    GA
    With PATS, I've seen cars crank but won't start. but I've seen cars that won't even turn over due to PATS. Usually the one dash icon (can't remember this early) will flash rapidly.

    I'm with the same. usually has to be fuel or spark but with how much more computerized the cars are becoming, could be something else.
     
  14. grabber5oh

    grabber5oh Member Established Member

    Messages:
    33
    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2014
    Location:
    Muncie
    Thanks soooo much guys! you've gave me enough shit to atleast point out whats going on! I work as a tech for Caterpillar but this even has me stumped. Im gonna go off what code my X4 said it was. I may d.m some of you guys for a number, prob gonna **** with it Friday!
     
  15. basspro302

    basspro302 Active Member Established Member

    Messages:
    357
    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2015
    Location:
    Ohio
    Check and see if you have spark and injector pulse. If not check the crank sensor.
     
  16. grabber5oh

    grabber5oh Member Established Member

    Messages:
    33
    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2014
    Location:
    Muncie

    yes sir I did the step by step timing chain install instructions from MMR I believe!
     

Share This Page