New to the SN95 world

CompOrangeStang

Established Member
As the title states, though I am a long time Mustang enthusiast (cars I've owned are in my sig), I am new to the SN95 world. I recently sold my '13 Boss 302 due to having a baby on the way, but picked up a black/black 98 Cobra with 46k miles over the weekend. The car is mostly stock, with just intake, exhaust, lowering springs, 03/04 cobra wheels, and drag radials out back. It's been snowing here for the past week on and off, so I haven't got a chance to really drive it yet, however it seems like it could be a fun little car.

In doing research on here, it seems that the best mods you can do on these cars up front are 4.10 or high gears and drag radials. Is that right? What would it take to get these cars into the 12's?

Thank you in advance for your input. I've done some research, just looking for verification of what I've read and any additional tips.

AZSN95SNAKE

Established Member
Get out while you still can; SN95s suck. lol jk no but sort of. 12s will take no less than 4.10s, MT ETs, exhaust (LTs would be extra beneficial), and the driver mod. These cars are really held back by not having C heads. I wish I would have bought a C headed mustang. But nonetheless these cars are also fun and can surprise a lot of people because they all think SN95s are super slow.

Tabres

Not without incident
Established Member
A twelve second pass takes very little, really. A low rear-end gear, exhaust, drop-in K&N filter, shifter, and good set of tires while driving it hard will get you there. You'd also do yourself a favor by having a set of subframe connectors installed.

CompOrangeStang

Established Member
Thanks for the input.

I had thought that 96-98 Cobras with just intake, catback exhaust, and drag radials could pull low 13's. I figured adding headers, mid-pipe, gears, and a shifter would put them into the mid to high 12's.

Tabres

Not without incident
Established Member