PID Question - 96' Procharged Cobra WOT cut-out

decipha

Well-Known Member
Established Member
Joined
Jul 12, 2008
Messages
867
Location
New Orleans, LA
nope no fuel pressure on 98 and older or 2011+ GTs as they run a return style fuel system so dont need a fuel rail pressure sensor.

All you have to do is make another log. Probably need to start the engine first as your provably crapping out on voltage during crank causing the logging to corrupt.
 

01silverstang

Well-Known Member
Established Member
Joined
Sep 22, 2004
Messages
1,102
Location
Batavia, IL
nope no fuel pressure on 98 and older or 2011+ GTs as they run a return style fuel system so dont need a fuel rail pressure sensor.

All you have to do is make another log. Probably need to start the engine first as your provably crapping out on voltage during crank causing the logging to corrupt.

I’ll try again tomorrow, should all the selections on the config file you sent be able to be logged on my car?

I cant remember if the file you provided logged any ignition or timing?
 

01silverstang

Well-Known Member
Established Member
Joined
Sep 22, 2004
Messages
1,102
Location
Batavia, IL
So I found that my cylinder 5 spark plug wire was so loose that I doubt it was getting any spark at all. I went ahead as maintenance and purchased Ford Performance 9mm plug wires, and will do a driving data log when they arrive. In the meantime, I was looking over the idle log and something caught my eye, fuel pump duty cycle was 1.5xxx to 1.6xxx wouldn't either of these be very high? Admittedly I don't know much about this, but had read that the PID normally measures .5 or 1.0, Fuel Pump Flow rate was .019xxx. My AFR was in the 17's at idle...
 

01silverstang

Well-Known Member
Established Member
Joined
Sep 22, 2004
Messages
1,102
Location
Batavia, IL
Here is a new data log I just completed, the revving is definitely smoother after the new FRPP plug wires, but I'm still getting the cutout under load at 3k rpm in both second and third.

I'm guessing bad / dirty MAF, as the MAF counts peg at 1023 at cutout.
 

Attachments

  • datalog-08-19-2021.csv
    1.2 MB · Views: 13
Last edited:

01silverstang

Well-Known Member
Established Member
Joined
Sep 22, 2004
Messages
1,102
Location
Batavia, IL
I also found this...

IMG-4816.jpg


IMG-4808.jpg


I believe there is enough of a straight shot in the setup to not create turbulent air, but would love some advice from the forum on the log and the setup. I've reached out to VMP as well.

D8-B4-CDED-52-DA-4-F4-E-8355-4-AEF4-E3293-D1.jpg
 

DSG2003Mach1

Well-Known Member
Established Member
Premium Member
Single Barrel Sirs
Joined
Apr 15, 2004
Messages
11,980
Location
Central Fl
is that the Maf extender harness they sell? if so probably just as easy to replace it. You should be able to log maf counts and such and see how it's looking. I've seen mixed feed back on that location.
 

01silverstang

Well-Known Member
Established Member
Joined
Sep 22, 2004
Messages
1,102
Location
Batavia, IL
is that the Maf extender harness they sell? if so probably just as easy to replace it. You should be able to log maf counts and such and see how it's looking. I've seen mixed feed back on that location.

It’s the solder in harness to convert to the slot style MAF. Whatever went wrong went wrong after doing one clean pull, and the previous owner didn’t have issues so I think placement is probably fine, appears to be 5-8 inches of straight run before sensor.

I’m tempted to start with new harness/connector… but would rather not pay shipping twice if a new sensor is needed also. The filament has grey on the red that’s not coming off with MAF cleaner. I posted the log above with MAF counts.
 

01silverstang

Well-Known Member
Established Member
Joined
Sep 22, 2004
Messages
1,102
Location
Batavia, IL
VMP tech support suggested changing the harness as a first step. They advised that the log shows MAF data as intermittent which would indicate a short. I couldn’t see any ground that they could be shorting on, but it needs fixed even if it doesn't solve the problem.
 

DSG2003Mach1

Well-Known Member
Established Member
Premium Member
Single Barrel Sirs
Joined
Apr 15, 2004
Messages
11,980
Location
Central Fl
VMP tech support suggested changing the harness as a first step. They advised that the log shows MAF data as intermittent which would indicate a short. I couldn’t see any ground that they could be shorting on, but it needs fixed even if it doesn't solve the problem.

could be touching eachother, doesn’t have to be a short to ground. You could de-pin the connector and electrical tape each wire and put em back and see if that clears it up for now
 

01silverstang

Well-Known Member
Established Member
Joined
Sep 22, 2004
Messages
1,102
Location
Batavia, IL
could be touching eachother, doesn’t have to be a short to ground. You could de-pin the connector and electrical tape each wire and put em back and see if that clears it up for now
I did wrap each wire in 3M Super 33 electrical tape. I just haven't had a chance to go drive it.
 

01silverstang

Well-Known Member
Established Member
Joined
Sep 22, 2004
Messages
1,102
Location
Batavia, IL
So I received the VMP harness Friday evening, but have not yet had a chance to install it. I will be making some time tonight, and hopefully data logging it tomorrow.

In the meantime, can someone take a look at the attached excel file from my data log and help me out.

Knock Sensor Retard Increment is a flat 1.5 across most of the log, but in a small section it jumps to 1.75. Knock Sensor Retard Increment is also 0 across most of the log, but goes as high as 3 though it doesn't seem to correspond to timing being pulled.

I do see Spark PID dropping to 0, and it appears to start falling as the MAF count goes from 511 to 523, timing drops from 15.25 to 9.75, and then continues to drop to 0 for a period before bouncing between 3.75 and 8 eventually jumping back up to 18+. Some knock retard is listed during that stretch at the end but doesn't seem to correlate to timing being pulled.

I'm not sure if the misfire PID is not supported, but there is a PID for cylinders 1 through 8 and no misfires were listed at all in the log.

I really just want to make sure I'm seeing everything that looks off in the log, and addressing all the potential issues. I really appreciate everyone's help, wish I was smarter with this stuff.

datalogquestion.JPG
 

01silverstang

Well-Known Member
Established Member
Joined
Sep 22, 2004
Messages
1,102
Location
Batavia, IL
So too many times have I "found the likely issue," and been wrong, so I won't say that but will just post a few pictures. I'm working remotely and decided to install the harness/connector from VMP and clock the housing to move the wiring and sensor away from the tire on my lunch break. When I disconnected the intercooler piping I found this.

Outlet piping from intercooler to just below MAF housing:
IMG-4916.jpg


Outlet Coupler to:
IMG-4917.jpg

Intercooler piping from Procharger to inlet side of intercooler:
IMG-4918.jpg


Got me one of them air to air to water intercoolers lol

I'm lucky it doesn't seem to have caused any damage besides the drivability issue. Currently in the process of removing the front bumper to take the intercooler out and make sure there is no more water inside.
 

01silverstang

Well-Known Member
Established Member
Joined
Sep 22, 2004
Messages
1,102
Location
Batavia, IL
Just wanted to come back for a follow up post.

I spent Tuesday night going through all the piping, the water was limited to the low spots of pipe on each side of the intercooler. The intercooler had water droplets in it and was damp, but no significant water. I cleaned everything out, and ran a hair dryer through the intercooler to dry it and then went though all the coupler to make sure they were secure and clamped down tight. I also cut out the old MAF harness/connector and soldered in the new one, and clocked the MAF housing away from the front tire.

Wednesday I put the bumper back on and called it a night.

Thursday I took it for a drive to determine if this solved my issue, or if more data logging and potentially a new VMP 5000 MAF would be on order. I'm happy to report the call pulls hard and smooth with no cutout. AFR goes down to 11.3 under WOT, and everything appears to be good to go.

While I can't say conclusively since I changed the harness and got rid of the water which did the trick, I'm leaning towards the water. My thought is that at part throttle and low load the water just sat in the pipe, but as the piping crossed from vacuum to boost some amount of water was being pulled onto the MAF sensor. The water likely cooled the resistor to the point that it registered as MAXED and this caused the cut out. I will say the idle is way smoother now as well.

Thanks to everyone who offered a suggestion, glad I can enjoy my car for the first time since I bought it in January.
 

DSG2003Mach1

Well-Known Member
Established Member
Premium Member
Single Barrel Sirs
Joined
Apr 15, 2004
Messages
11,980
Location
Central Fl
if that harness wasn't already an issue it would have been shortly but I would agree, but it was blowing water up into the sensor once it built some boost.

glad you've finally got it running well, it's been a bit of an ordeal but still seems like overall you made out well on this one
 

01silverstang

Well-Known Member
Established Member
Joined
Sep 22, 2004
Messages
1,102
Location
Batavia, IL
if that harness wasn't already an issue it would have been shortly but I would agree, but it was blowing water up into the sensor once it built some boost.

glad you've finally got it running well, it's been a bit of an ordeal but still seems like overall you made out well on this one
All things considered I feel very lucky. Again the amount of intake piping with the supercharger and the vertical section of pipe for the MAF really saved me...

My father-in-law grabbed me fender liners from a junkyard awhile back, and I've been waiting to install them until the MAF stuff was sorted for ease of access, but they will be going in this weekend. I will also be thinking about if I want to keep the power pipe or get the Procharger one that's shorter and has the filter up higher in the engine bay.
 

40th GT

Member
Established Member
Joined
Oct 14, 2005
Messages
39
Location
Lawrenceville, GA
DO NOT UPDATE THE XCAL!!!!

Here is my cdan4 configuration file for livelink.

Usually when you get a hard cut like that its ignition related.
I am attempting to log using Livelink Gen2 for other reasons but this config file is showing 0 for a lot of values while logging, and some numbers don't make sense (like 4400 for spark).

Is there something I have to change in Livelink?
 

Users who are viewing this thread



Top