Power steering pump.

blwn03sonic

venomous motorsports
Established Member
I installed a aftermarket moroso power steering tank. I filled tank and turned steering wheel left and right lock to lock. The pump starting whining and leaking. I had a used pump and did the same procedures. Im I doing the bleeding process wrong. It destroyed two pumps now. Thanks for any feedback.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

01yellercobra

AKA slo984now
Established Member
Does the Moroso tank have the hose fittings in the same spot as stock? No chance you got the feed and return reversed?

blwn03sonic

venomous motorsports
Established Member
Does the Moroso tank have the hose fittings in the same spot as stock? No chance you got the feed and return reversed?

Their in the same spot. Both line are different in size. No way to mix in them up.

*Jay*

Tweeker by trade
Established Member
Premium Member
What exactly was your process when you were bleeding your PS pump, if the engine was running right away that could be why you toasted it. When I changed the PS pump on my wifes Legacy I got the front wheels up off the ground and with the steering wheel unlocked and the engine off I went lock to lock at a moderate pace for about 10 minutes straight. Bumped the ignition over a few times and did another 10 minutes lock to lock with the engine off.

Checked the fluid level, had the wife go lock to lock a few times while watching for any bubbles. With no bubbles had the wife start the car and watched the fluid level and listened for any squealing/bubbles. If there were any bubbles or screeches from the pump I killed the engine and did another 10 minutes of lock to lock.