SN95 Rollercoaster

HellionGT

Turbo fun
Established Member
Joined
Jun 10, 2021
Messages
35
Location
Under the ice
The Moroso ice tank made for 03/04 Cobra’s wouldn’t fit. [mention]Hellion GT [/mention] sent me a message that he might have a solution.

A modified tank

Looked like it was going to be perfect, but the untouched side was sitting a touch to high. The front corner. Note how the coolant expansion tank angles towards the front to clear the hood.

We brainstormed some ideas (trimmed the hood, moved left/right/forward/back). Unfortunately, it just wouldn’t work.

Solid ass guy, refunded my money when it didn’t work. Who does that?!?!

Thanks again [mention]Hellion GT [/mention]

Your welcome. Too bad it wouldn't work out. It looked so close to fitting too.
 

Real98roush

Well-Known Member
Established Member
Joined
Sep 11, 2013
Messages
482
Location
Las Vegas
Once I tightened up the CAI, I discovered the PMAS wasn’t going to work. I received it with the blower. I think this model was designed for the GT500. It was hitting the hood in a few locations.
270089c51f18b1634d0ecfe0406dbe01.jpg


The TB was hitting the hood as well, so I had to trim the hood support
9a39b481dcd103fa7e45f93002f958c4.jpg


Not aesthetically pleasing, but functional
602e0d832fe7366625309d17d000e6a9.jpg


Now that we cleared that hurdle, moved on to to CAI and went with JLT

afba09683a7de8220bffc4e34900e9e9.jpg


The under hood fuse box was pushing the CAI into the PCV, so I relocated it inside the driver side fender which cured the PCV issue and left just enough room to sneak the PS reservoir in the void.

cce01552d2ed8d82359bdf454441ac37.jpg


de6ad8e3b253b00a16774caa90bb8ab1.jpg



IG: @does_not_listen
 
Last edited:

N/Angel

Crazy Swiss Chick!
Established Member
Premium Member
Joined
Apr 4, 2006
Messages
2,649
Location
Switzerland/Germany
not sure what power steering pump you will be running or how you will use your car, but when I moved my ps reservoir to that exact place my stock pump died within the first two laps on the racetrack because the pump would starve in turns.
 

Low Class Yuppie

Active Member
Established Member
Premium Member
Party Liquor Posse
Joined
Dec 23, 2011
Messages
562
Location
Cuyahoga Falls, Ohio
Great work so far.

If you rounded off those edges on the hood cut and resprayed under there, it would look more aesthetically pleasing while remaining functional.
 

Real98roush

Well-Known Member
Established Member
Joined
Sep 11, 2013
Messages
482
Location
Las Vegas
not sure what power steering pump you will be running or how you will use your car, but when I moved my ps reservoir to that exact place my stock pump died within the first two laps on the racetrack because the pump would starve in turns.

I’m using a stock 1996 power steering pump. Did you find a location that cured that issue?

It’s a streetcar, but I do plan to go to a few AutoX and track days.


IG: @does_not_listen
 

Real98roush

Well-Known Member
Established Member
Joined
Sep 11, 2013
Messages
482
Location
Las Vegas
Great work so far.

If you rounded off those edges on the hood cut and resprayed under there, it would look more aesthetically pleasing while remaining functional.

Thank you!

I agree. Once the car is mechanically sound, I plan to go back and clean some stuff up. Possibly modify and reinstall the hood pad to hide some of the ugly.


IG: @does_not_listen
 

N/Angel

Crazy Swiss Chick!
Established Member
Premium Member
Joined
Apr 4, 2006
Messages
2,649
Location
Switzerland/Germany
I’m using a stock 1996 power steering pump. Did you find a location that cured that issue?

It’s a streetcar, but I do plan to go to a few AutoX and track days.

IG: @does_not_listen

Not yet unfortunately, after the problems I changed to an electric powersteering pump from ZF but that setup was not up to the task of handling the hydroboost at all. I have a Turn1 hydraulic pump waiting to go back in with a big PSC tank, but have yet to find a spot to install, the tank apparently needs to go as close to above the pump as possible to ensure constant flow.
 

Real98roush

Well-Known Member
Established Member
Joined
Sep 11, 2013
Messages
482
Location
Las Vegas
Slacked on the updates, but the blower installation is complete. I got a basic startup tune & ran it through a few heat cycles. Seems ready to go. I have a tune scheduled in 2 days. I’m excited & nervous is an understatement.

Used a Moroso coolant tank for 96-04 cars that I had modified for the Coyote. Second barb. Couldn’t find an aluminum 3/8, so I went with a 5/16.

b52a494cc650bd981cf53c4c31a90772.jpg


Some UPR caps that slip over the plastic caps
5ce07a6c35ad243962ee8409b4f39d7b.jpg


Engine bay
fc5336e4237c332b0434c15746ca1a99.jpg



IG: @does_not_listen
 

Real98roush

Well-Known Member
Established Member
Joined
Sep 11, 2013
Messages
482
Location
Las Vegas
Judgement Day

99e3897ca83df3e7891db7059ff9a696.jpg


Unable to complete the tune. The knock sensors are reading 0, coolant temp appears to be reading low and the VCT isn’t working properly. VCT is hovering around 0. EXH should retard around -15, and intake should advance to 30-40.

Update: found the pigtail to the CHT sensor was touching the bell housing and melted. Unfortunately, there’s not enough space between the firewall and engine to make the repair so I am going to pull the blower. I could remove the transmission instead, but If the knock sensor issue remains I’ll have to pull the blower to access the sensors anyways so I might as well pull the blower.

Aside from that it’s mechanically running really well. We did see some belt slip in the upper RPM where it dropped from 14psi to 11. I’m trying to decide how to address it. Potential solutions: 100mm idler, smaller belt, different tensioner… Someone on FB suggested a Hasty bracket that pushes the idler closer to the blower pulley to increase belt wrap.

Oil level and pressure (based on gauge cluster) appear in range, so I’m not sure what’s the deal with VCT. Wondering if the CHT pigtail or knock sensors have something to do with that.

IG: @does_not_listen
 
Last edited:

Real98roush

Well-Known Member
Established Member
Joined
Sep 11, 2013
Messages
482
Location
Las Vegas
Damn, sorry about your dyno day. I'm hoping for a quick fix with the VCT...

Did you have to change your PS lines to mount the reservoir where you did? I'm trying to figure out where to mount mine.

Sent from my SM-N986U using the svtperformance.com mobile app

It’s all good. Always something with these project cars. I enjoy the challenge and learning experiences.

No, I haven’t moved the PS reservoir yet, but plan to use a simple bracket connected to the head to mount it right above the pump. I’ll shift my attention to it once i get these other bugs worked out and the car tuned.


IG: @does_not_listen
 

Real98roush

Well-Known Member
Established Member
Joined
Sep 11, 2013
Messages
482
Location
Las Vegas
Repaired the cylinder head temp sensor wiring.
dc6f45dbf6b9aa8866bb6290f57b9116.jpg


c0a7964ec24c346ec2521007d5efc449.jpg




Knock sensor wiring continuity from the sensor to the ECU checked out. Replaced the sensors while I had everything apart.

Bought a Hasty bracket to address the belt slip. It moves the idler closer to the blower to increase belt wrap. Had to go with a larger belt. If the belt continues to slip, I’ll get a friend to help put the smaller belt on. It’s not easy holding the tensioner and try to wrestle the belt. Photo from Scott Hasty for reference.
9b4a3da6192bb58324aa529df4a713ef.jpg


I’ve been using a SCT X3 forever without an issue. Wanted something to monitor, but the X4 is too bulky to mount, so I bought a Livewire TS+. SCT said it couldn’t perform a crankshaft relearn so I bought a BDX too.

I wanted to start fresh, so I returned the tune to stock, reloaded the base startup file and tried to perform the crankshaft relearn. The BDX didn’t give the option, but the Livewire did contrary to what SCT Customer service and Tech support said which is actually a bonus because now I can return the BDX.

Data log appears to show everything working, so I sent to the tuner for review. :fingerscrossed:

d4459d183dac8be1ed5b946e87aedddf.jpg



IG: @does_not_listen
 

Real98roush

Well-Known Member
Established Member
Joined
Sep 11, 2013
Messages
482
Location
Las Vegas
19caba15febbe026528de5c0d0427290.jpg


Got back to the tuner yesterday and it was as mix of good and annoying.

The good: car is coming around and all sensors were a go. Ran strong and put down 613/546 on 91 octane.

bcfc5ca7840ac942a901b72a85dfd1c8.jpg



The annoying: still experiencing belt slip and boost was limited to 10-11psi.

Asked him to make the 91 octane tune conservative, so he pulled 2° of timing. I took the car for a test drive and couldn’t help but smile from ear to ear. It packs a punch in that light car with 4:10’s. The MT ET Streets were struggling to maintain traction.

I ordered a new belt today and a GM 3 bar MAP sensor to tie into the SCT Livewire, so I can monitor boost and see when the belt slip is fixed. Once it’s straightened out I’ll take it back for an ethanol tune. I’m guessing 4-5 more psi plus timing will net near 700hp.


IG: @does_not_listen
 

Real98roush

Well-Known Member
Established Member
Joined
Sep 11, 2013
Messages
482
Location
Las Vegas
Bought a 2.75 pulley and sent it out to be treated.
bc102126822051a791651c3478aa8fce.jpg



Really fast turnaround. Just holding it in your hand you can feel the bite compared to the slick untreated pulley. Installed a smaller belt as well. The tensioner is damn near maxed out so we’ll see how that holds up.

d47c14c22eaf5659d3d582458aa58528.jpg



Installed the GM 3 Bar MAP sensor. The SCT Livewire TS has an analog setting for the sensor, but it wasn’t reading right. I selected the 2 Bar and it seemed closer.

Took it out for a test drive and it felt really strong. I saw 15-17psi.


IG: @does_not_listen
 

Real98roush

Well-Known Member
Established Member
Joined
Sep 11, 2013
Messages
482
Location
Las Vegas
Something didn’t feel right about the GM 3 bar sensor readings, so I installed a AEM Failsafe WB/Boost gauge.

I am seeing 15psi till about 5000 rpm then it starts dropping eventually getting to 11 psi near red line. Found dust on the pulley to confirm belt slip. I’m going to send the larger pulley in to get treated and install it with the belt I’m using for the smaller pulley to see if that fixes it, so I can get it tuned on ethanol.

I’ve given up on trying to max out this blower. I’m going to focus on correcting the belt slip, then work on the interior, get some 31 spline axles and possibly change out the 4:10’s for 3:55’s.

I want to do a big brake kit with 14” rotors, but they won’t work with the current wheels. I started looking for new wheels and kept landing on BBS, HRE or CCW’s. They’re not cheap, so I’m going to keep and eye on the used market while I work on the aforementioned things.


IG: @does_not_listen
 

Adower

Well-Known Member
Established Member
Joined
Sep 3, 2005
Messages
2,450
Location
SAC
Something didn’t feel right about the GM 3 bar sensor readings, so I installed a AEM Failsafe WB/Boost gauge.

I am seeing 15psi till about 5000 rpm then it starts dropping eventually getting to 11 psi near red line. Found dust on the pulley to confirm belt slip. I’m going to send the larger pulley in to get treated and install it with the belt I’m using for the smaller pulley to see if that fixes it, so I can get it tuned on ethanol.

I’ve given up on trying to max out this blower. I’m going to focus on correcting the belt slip, then work on the interior, get some 31 spline axles and possibly change out the 4:10’s for 3:55’s.

I want to do a big brake kit with 14” rotors, but they won’t work with the current wheels. I started looking for new wheels and kept landing on BBS, HRE or CCW’s. They’re not cheap, so I’m going to keep and eye on the used market while I work on the aforementioned things.


IG: @does_not_listen
I believe only certain CCW wheels will fit a BBK. Be careful there.
 

geoffmt

Well-Known Member
Established Member
Premium Member
Joined
Jul 30, 2015
Messages
1,956
Location
billings, mt
The 18 inch 2000R wheels will fit a 14 inch big brake kit, Welds fit too if they have the high pad cut


Sent from my iPhone using svtperformance.com
 

Real98roush

Well-Known Member
Established Member
Joined
Sep 11, 2013
Messages
482
Location
Las Vegas
The 18 inch 2000R wheels will fit a 14 inch big brake kit, Welds fit too if they have the high pad cut


Sent from my iPhone using svtperformance.com

I love the 00R’s and contemplated them. My final choice is something a little less common. I would love a Weld Drag pack someday.


IG: @does_not_listen
 
Last edited:

Users who are viewing this thread



Top