sub install?

antiv6

Established Member
Just recently I ditched the stock head unit and went with a Pioneer AVH-P3200DVD. Everything works great but now i want a sub. Nothing serious, just something that will improve the overall music experience. Everything speaker wise in the car is stock. I want just one sub in the trunk of my convertible. What should i go with? A 10", 12"? What amp, wiring, etc. I have no knowledge of audio whatsoever. Are there any premade box's that will fit on one side of the trunk? thanks:beer:

jjscobra18

Established Member
Plenty of premade boxes that will fit in there. It really depends on your taste and what music you listen too and how $ you wanna spend. Where in GA do you live Im south of ATL i know a few weeks back someone was selling a MTX pre made box for a 94-04 trunk. I just did a complete install in mine and redid everything i went with a big booming single 12". From what you say you want a 10" or a 12" in a sealed box should do fine for you if your looking for more bass then go with a ported box. Amp really depends on the speaker as well as wiring the more power you requiring the bigger the wire your gonna need. If you have anymore questions let me know I've redone my mach system in my 04 GT i had and now my 04 Cobra so i can guide you in the right direction it ya need it just let me know!

Last edited:

antiv6

Established Member
Thanks for the help, I ended up picking up a 12in pioneer sub, sealed box, amp and wiring pretty cheap off craigslist and installing it today, install went nice and smooth and the sub definitely helped out the sound.

antiv6

Established Member
I still need to mount the amp to something, would it be ok to mount it to the sub box or is that something your not supposed to do? Thanks!

jjscobra18

Established Member