Suggestions on How-To drag race my CJ equipped auto?

goat-ee

Established Member
Going to Mo-Kan Dragway tomorrow night. I'm no pro at driving the auto 5.0 at the strip. My power mods are as follows...

11' GT Premium Kona Auto with stock converter and 3.15 gear. GT500 AB, Jegs cat deletes, AED tuned, CJ Intake, SCJ monoblade throttle body, Revolution Auto 5" CAI 285/40/18 Nitto NT05 DR's on 2010 GT500 convertible wheels, DSS aluminum driveshaft. I will be adding back 3 degrees of timing via the SCT handheld at the strip once I get some good gas (per Shaun at AED), and of course will be on the drag tune.

I already know to turn the TC completely off by pushing the TC button for about 7 seconds while at a standstill with foot on brake. Put car in "3" after I make it to the line. But the questions are...

1) How long on the burnout?
2) What gear for burnout?
3) Flash the converter from complete idle and just go immediate WOT upon last yellow? Or flash it and don't go immediate WOT, but a sure and steady to WOT over the course of about a second?
4) Power up against the converter and just go immediate WOT upon last yellow? Or power up against the converter and don't go immediate WOT, but a sure and steady to WOT over the course of about a second?
5) None of the above? Any suggestions are very much appreciated.

GearsNBeers

Established Member
Hey man good luck tonight.

The torque convertors in the autos are kind of weird. If you come up on the brakes at the starting line right after staging and try to launch at a high rpm your car will probably run slow. Mine sure did.