Throw Out Bearing Adjustment

Finaltheorem47

I'm a Lead Farmer
Established Member
Hi guys, I put a new Ram clutch (with TOB included) clutch in a few months ago and had no clue how to adjust the TOB, so I tried to do what I could from what I found from info online.

Anyways, I adjusted the clutch as loose as possible but with enough slack so that the cable has no free play, and as little pressure on the pressure plate fingers as possible.

Now I'm starting to get a chirp that is RPM dependent that happens when the clutch is in relaxed state, in gear while driving. I have 2k miles on the new TOB. If I lightly touch the clutch pedal, maybe 2-4lbs of pressure, the noise goes away. I'm afraid to tighten the clutch up that much though because they say you will kill your clutch fast if you ride it (leave your foot on the pedal) and tightening up the clutch even more is like doing the same thing.

I have no clue what to do, results for adjusting a TOB come up as you have to leave a clearance between them and the fingers, but I don't know how that is possible with a cable clutch unless I rig up some sort of spring or magnet system.

99cobra09

"Stock Car"
Established Member
The TOB has no adjustment, it just clips on the fork. The only thing that has adjustment is the fork, either you can move it up or down, find the sweet spot, you guide point is where the clutch cable hole is at.

Also those TOB that come in the RAM clutch set are junk, maybe the TOB is going out already. The best TOB replacement is the Ford Factory TOB.

Last edited:

Wynn

Wants 11's
Established Member
I had an extra Ram TOB laying around and threw it in my car last winter, and it's already shot. Ford TOB is going in this winter- the Ram one is a piece of crap.

Finaltheorem47

I'm a Lead Farmer
Established Member