Twin turbo 4.6 dohc build - trying to avoiding sensor overkill (dominator efi)

Doodler

Established Member
I'm in the middle of wiring up a Holley Dominator EFI for a high hp street car (twin 62mm turbocharged 4.75 stroker in a 1964 Falcon). I'm having a hard time trying to figure what sensors are needed and what would just be good to know. My buddy that's helping races his chevy II a lot, so he wants to see all the data available. I on the other hand will probably make 10-12 passes at the track in a year. I have no problem with getting sensors, but there is a point when it's just overkill for a street car. I have no experience building something THIS big and it's my first mod motor. Looking for advice from people that have been there and no what to look for on these motors. Thanks in advance!

IMG_2067.jpg
IMG_2079.jpg

badcobra

It's Fast
Established Member
That's a pretty neat combo. Where in MN are you located?

You have a dominator, so you can monitor and control things in an almost unlimited capacity.

At minimum, I'd do these
driveshaft speed
front wheel speed
Pre-intercooler air temp
coolant pressure
transmission temp

You'll also have to control the fuel pump(s), fan, transmission cooler fan, bump, and transbrake

Nice to haves:
crankcase pressure
exhaust backpressure
shock sensors
converter pressure
trans pressure
pre-intercooler psi

It's much easier to run all the wires now for these 'nice to haves' and just wrap them up. My car is a similar build as a 'mostly street car', but having all the data you can is pretty important. We have a pretty incredible wiring guru/tuner in MN located a bit north of Rochester who has done an unbelievable job on my car getting all this stuff to work together. I can pass along his info if you are interested. Also, join the Holley mod motor group on Facebook if you are on there. Mod Motor W/ Holley EFI

Doodler

Established Member