• Welcome to SVTPerformance!

Vortex has belt size

Discussion in 'The Blower Bistro' started by JGDogg10, Dec 11, 2018.

  1. JGDogg10

    JGDogg10 Member Established Member

    Messages:
    36
    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2012
    Location:
    San Diego
    I looked through the forum and couldn’t find anything so I wanted to see if anyone knows the correct belt size for a Mach 1 with a single bolt tensioner, vortech 3.1 pulley with a 7.5” crank pulley and a thump tensioner? I had a 112.4” belt, but it still is eating the belt when I get on it hard, let off and then get back on it(shifting gears). So I feel like there may be some slack causing it to jump. I already laser aligned all the pulleys....
     
  2. JGDogg10

    JGDogg10 Member Established Member

    Messages:
    36
    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2012
    Location:
    San Diego
    Vortech.. damn auto correct..
     
  3. slo984now

    slo984now AKA 01yellerCobra Established Member

    Messages:
    14,433
    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2005
    Location:
    San Diego
    Where is the tensioner sitting? Is it about halfway or is it sitting more towards one side?
     
  4. JGDogg10

    JGDogg10 Member Established Member

    Messages:
    36
    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2012
    Location:
    San Diego
    I don’t rememnber exactly, it’s been a while since the belt has actually been on. Gonna try to buy the belt today and put it on and I’ll let you know. But the tensioner should be set at about 80% right? So more towards the drivers side of the car? I’m hoping that the belt was maybe too long and the tensioner was hitting the stop before it could pick up all the belts slack.
     
  5. slo984now

    slo984now AKA 01yellerCobra Established Member

    Messages:
    14,433
    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2005
    Location:
    San Diego
    I honestly don't remember which way everything went on my 01. But I remember having the tensioner a little past halfway. I never have belt slip issues. This was an F1A with the 8 rib swap.
     

Share This Page