Well paying Independent Contractor Gigs?

rborden

Established Member
I am a safety manager for a Transportation Company. The job security is above average, the pay is average, the hours are ridiculous, benefits are below average but that’s not much of a concern. Been here for 12 years.

Seems like I all I ever do is work, work, work. Even on my days off I typically have to go in for a few hours and deal with someone else’s catastrophe.

Financially I’m in a good spot. Very little debt. Just a small car payment ($200 a month) and the usual monthly bills.

Looking for something where I can work from home or be mobile and if I need to take a take a day off, I can without being hassled or having to justify it.

Uber and Lyft are ok as far as supplementing my income if needs be but not the primary gig I am looking for.

One of the fields I’m looking at is being a national signing agent as well as getting my notary public. Based upon conversations with some current signing agents I’ve gathered they can make anywhere from $900 a week to $1800 a week. Each signing pays about $75 - $150 per signing. I like the flexibility and if you don’t want the assignment you simply say no and they go to the next person. If you want the day off to go do whatever you can and no one asks why you’re not working.

I’d like to hear from you all with other ideas for independent contractor jobs that make decent money ($75,000 would be very comfortable) where you can take time off if you need it without a ton of oversight. Basically being my own boss, but not starting a business with a shop and hiring employees.

Anything that might require a certificate or license with some class/tests or training. Not interested in driving commercial as in a truck or bus.

At this point in my life, I need more me time, take care of some things health wise and in my personal life and have a balance if that makes sense?