Which blower... with a twist...

Torinate

Hello everyone.

Been lurking for awhile and have done many many searches. I have a bunch of questions. Hopefully get some helpful advice.

Haven’t bought the car yet but planning the path to go.

Going to buy a 15-17 GT convertible automatic.

Is there a “better” year to get? Any known problems or worthwhile benefits of the various years? Obviously the 15s are a little “cheaper”. Can’t swing an 18 unless I skip the blower. Not necessarily. Deal breaker however.

This will be a daily driver including winter. I’m in Ontario so yes, the car will see the snow! On really bad days I’ll take the AWD SUV. But the plan is to drive the car everyday as I do my car now and leave my wife’s SUV alone.

I have LOTS of experience with centrifugal supercharger in the distant past but none of those were driven in the deep cold. Has anyone had or heard of issues with any of the blowers in the cold? I’m leaning towards the VMP TVS Gen 2 R but will consider each if one is better or one is worse. Love the Whipple as well but wasn’t really wanting to change a converter as well. I read somewhere about tolerances and rubbing but cannot find it again. Not sure which blower it was.

I’m looking for an honest 600 whp on crappy 91 octane fuel. I will not be putting a cage in the but would still like to go to the track and run a few times until they give me the boot.

Street ability, fun and dependability will be key issues for the blower choice. I think each kit can make the power level I’m looking for.

Anything to be careful of with respect to supercharging a convertible? What extra bracing does everyone recommend? Any extra care with the cold temps for the blower? In Ontario, we also have emission testing. However, the teens that do it won’t be looking for carb stickers - just stick the sniffer in the pipe so speak. So cats are a must and a good part throttle tune (no wot testing).

Opinions anyone?