• Welcome to SVTPerformance!

Whipple / BAP / Fuel pressure issue - help!!

Discussion in 'Terminator Talk' started by Jiffy, Mar 24, 2017.

  1. Jiffy

    Jiffy Active Member Established Member

    Messages:
    299
    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2011
    Location:
    Melbourne, Australia
    Ok - thanks.
     
  2. Rich'sTRsvt

    Rich'sTRsvt Member Established Member

    Messages:
    788
    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2012
    Location:
    Madison, WI
    Fuel pressure that high at idle sounds like it could be a faulty fuel rail pressure sensor, pretty common problem with a BAP and someone who hasn't tuned these cars much. A search on here will come up with a lot of these failing.
     
  3. Jiffy

    Jiffy Active Member Established Member

    Messages:
    299
    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2011
    Location:
    Melbourne, Australia
    Possibly, but they measured it with a mechanical gauge because the Reading got so high.
     
  4. MG0h3

    MG0h3 Well-Known Member Premium Member Established Member

    Messages:
    6,783
    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2014
    Location:
    El Paso, TX
    Correct but the frps is how the ecm knows what psi is in the rails. If it is giving an incorrect reading to the ecm, could be the fault


    Sent from my iPhone using svtperformance.com
     
  5. Jiffy

    Jiffy Active Member Established Member

    Messages:
    299
    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2011
    Location:
    Melbourne, Australia
    Could be - but it worked fine beforehand. Having the BAP post FPDM is the most likely cause at the moment as we're not using the Hobbs switch, just connecting it PRE-FPDM and will re-test. Good info though, thank you for responding....
     
  6. MG0h3

    MG0h3 Well-Known Member Premium Member Established Member

    Messages:
    6,783
    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2014
    Location:
    El Paso, TX
    oh ok..couldnt remember. Good deal man hope thats it!
     
  7. Jiffy

    Jiffy Active Member Established Member

    Messages:
    299
    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2011
    Location:
    Melbourne, Australia
    I hope so too - it's been at the tuner now for 8 weeks, it's sitting in the corner waiting for time to work on it as they're pretty busy, and they can't afford to upset lots of other customers by disrupting their existing bookings. They removed the fuel tank and were about to put in a return system when I realised the issue with the BAP/FPDM, so they need to put all that back together and the fix the wiring, then test it, then dyno it...
    Maybe next week
     
  8. braindontstop31

    braindontstop31 Member Established Member

    Messages:
    453
    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2013
    Location:
    Alvaton, KY
    This is the wiring diagram for Pre-FPDM and a wire upgrade/relay to supply the needed current:
     

    Attached Files:

  9. Jiffy

    Jiffy Active Member Established Member

    Messages:
    299
    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2011
    Location:
    Melbourne, Australia
    Great diagram - thanks!!
     

Share This Page