Who has customized their own coil covers?

iwannacobra5

Established Member
it's hard to say in a title, but who has done the work themselves?

i thought it'd be a fun DIY to paint/polish my coil covers, but i've never done it before. does anybody have any tips or tricks you used when doing your own? what tools will i need?

i'd like to paint them kona blue, but i'm unsure as to where to find that color (or one similar). if you painted yours, where did you get your supplies? i'd have to find it in a spray since i don't have a spray gun. i'd love to powder coat them, but i don't have the supplies.

post some pics if you have them!

thanks in advance for the advice.

Last edited:

evasive

Pro 2A Attorney
Established Member
Premium Member
Party Liquor Posse
If you want the challenge, that's cool. You'll spend quite a bit in time and money but they'll have your stamp on them.

I know my own personal limits so I had BlkGT500nCA do mine. He helped me come up with some ideas and made sure the original Shelby coil covers came out great. I was quite surprised at the quality - he really does do exceptional work.

iwannacobra5

Established Member
i agree he does AWESOME work, but i look at it as a fun project. if it looks like it's going to be over my head where i have to invest in a bunch of tools that i'll use once, then i'll just go to brian.

JeremyAlan

Naked SVT Poster
Established Member
Here is what I did to my 2004 Cobra

60bbe2de.jpg

blkGT500nCA

Established Member
Let me know if I can help. I've done TONS of them.

I acid wash off the factory coating before I media blast them. If painted, they get sealed, base coat, then clear coated. All powder coated ones get finished in powdered clears too.

Last edited:

fullboogie

Established Member
I got into this thread thinking "who the hell wants to paint or polish their coil overs?" :D

Black Sex

Established Member