who is a reservist?

mustangmike6996

Established Member
Before the military i was an ASE master tech (still fully certed) for Lexus and Mercedes, I do miss it. I am currently active duty USMC and im sure im not going to re-enlist active duty. Who here is a reservist? I am thinking that the reserve side of the house is a better option for me, plus i do enjoy the military and i would still like to retire (at a pro-rated percentage, i know)

what kind of advice do you all have on the subject?

blackfang

Established Member
I tried it and it sucked. Granted I went from Active Duty Marines to Army Reserves and in my personal experience from what I dealt with are a joke. I am not sure how they function as a component. BTW, I am a service advisor myself.

First you have the command trying to pull late last minute schools or tasking on you with little to no warning. This pisses the employer off because they are not the military and now have to find a suitable replacement while you are gone. They do not care that in the military anything beyond 1 hour is actually long term planning that requires a training meeting.

Also mobilizations. They do not have to give you any notice. I mobilized with less than 5 days notice. Hell I fought for weeks to get uniforms and gear needed because they were in such a rush to mob me. I had a friend mobilized with less than 24hours notice. It can happen and it sucks for your employer.