Why Our Turbo Cobra's Don't Have Torque

KingCobra10Sec

Project Cobra R in Progre
Established Member
Joined
Apr 7, 2006
Messages
1,905
Location
New Jersey
I was very curious to see why a lot of our turbo cobra's make more HP than torque, so I started to gather data from multiple sites and this one on turbo cobra cobra's

http://www.svtperformance.com/forums/turbo-cobras-247/536341-post-your-turbo-numbers-form.html

Based on all the data I have gathered it seems that we have over done our motors and suffered torque loss.

If you compare any car with torque lower than hp versus cars with more torque than hp. You will notice the main reasons behind this is

1. Cams - Over 80% of us who went with aftermarkets cams lost torque, there were some combo's of people running FORD GT cams that made more power or they switched to 99-01 Cams.

2. Heads - Seems like porting does hurt torque in this case. 100% of people who left Heads & Cams stock made more Torque than HP.

3. Intake - Everyone who used the sullivan intake definitely lost torque, I am not against the ported 99-01 intake but i could be biased since nazman ported mine.

So if I had to do it all again, I would have saved the 2000.00+ dollars I spent on heads and cams.

Hope this info helps you guys out.

My data included single turbo cobra, twin turbo cobra's and over 15 different motor and turbo catagories.
 
Last edited:

SinisterX

Makin ALL KINDS of gains
Established Member
Joined
Feb 24, 2002
Messages
4,176
Location
West Central, NY
I know what you mean I dyno'd 701hp/600tq. But could it be the lack of cubes and timing in our cars? My numbers are made w/ 15psi and 13* in the mid 11's AFR
 
Last edited:

EvilTwins

I can't find my pulley!
Established Member
Joined
Aug 13, 2007
Messages
1,133
Location
St. John's, NFLD Canada
There are lots of factors. It seems to mean like Hellion single cars almost always make more torque than horsepower when compared to twins which seem to always be the other way.

I don't really understand your line of thinking though, just because we have less tq. than hp, it doesn't mean we have "no" torque. I still have plenty more toque than twinscrew cars so I'm happy.
 

busta

REDRCKT
Established Member
Joined
Jan 9, 2007
Messages
4,705
Location
PA
My valvetrain is almost 100% stock and I still made 40tq less than HP.
 

KingCobra10Sec

Project Cobra R in Progre
Established Member
Joined
Apr 7, 2006
Messages
1,905
Location
New Jersey
I know what you mean I dyno'd 701hp/600tq. But could it be the lack of cubes and timing in our cars? My numbers are made w/ 15psi and 13* in the mid 11's AFR

don't know if the lack of cubes is the issue, maybe if someone has a 5.4 turbo we could try and gather data from that.

Timing wont save it, I have 21-22 degrees of timing in my tune.
 

KingCobra10Sec

Project Cobra R in Progre
Established Member
Joined
Apr 7, 2006
Messages
1,905
Location
New Jersey
There are lots of factors. It seems to mean like Hellion single cars almost always make more torque than horsepower when compared to twins which seem to always be the other way.

I don't really understand your line of thinking though, just because we have less tq. than hp, it doesn't mean we have "no" torque. I still have plenty more toque than twinscrew cars so I'm happy.

I know we make good torque but I am jealous of the people who have singles who make more torque than HP. I want more torque because torque wins races.
 

TRBO VNM

Authorized Vendor
Authorized Vendor
Joined
Feb 5, 2004
Messages
23,095
Location
Maryland
i dunno, I made 700/700 at 20# with my first turbo cobra. we will see what this one does. my intake setup will be different and different wastegate.
 

EvilTwins

I can't find my pulley!
Established Member
Joined
Aug 13, 2007
Messages
1,133
Location
St. John's, NFLD Canada
I know we make good torque but I am jealous of the people who have singles who make more torque than HP. I want more torque because torque wins races.


Nah that's not true. Horsepower is the actual measure of how much "work" (in watts) the engine can do, so really it is the most important number. Seeing as how we have V8's and not 4 bangers we don't really have to worry about ever getting into the situation where we have "no torque", unless you have an intake and cam that is designed purely for high RPM power. Even then we should still have good torque, but it will just peak at a high RPM.
 

Dakkota1

New Member
Established Member
Joined
Jun 29, 2007
Messages
36
Location
Texas
Tq?????

My old 57's made 860 foot pounds. These don't make alot of TQ?
With my new setup I am shooting for 950+

:??:
 

EvilTwins

I can't find my pulley!
Established Member
Joined
Aug 13, 2007
Messages
1,133
Location
St. John's, NFLD Canada
My old 57's made 860 foot pounds. These don't make alot of TQ?
With my new setup I am shooting for 950+

:??:

The HP kit with 57's really is an awesome setup. If I wasn't shooting for 1000rwhp (which is just out of reach of the 57's) with my new setup, I would love to keep the 57's. They spool pretty much instantly.

What are you going with in your new setup Dakkota1? I'm pretty decided on twin GT35R's now, but I was really considering SC61's there for a while. You keeping all the HP hot piping or are you re-doing everything?
 

Got Torque

well do yah?
Established Member
Joined
Apr 6, 2005
Messages
1,694
Location
Vancouver
My combo makes 616rwhp and 656rwtq @13lbs with 13-14* timing.

Motor is .030" over, Diamond 15cc pistons, Ford GT cams, ported 01 Cobra intake.

I wanted to make big power with little boost so was trying for an efficient setup. Going to try a few changes and see if I can get 650/700 at the wheels with similar amount of boost!
 

99riocobra

i like ice cream
Established Member
Joined
Nov 13, 2005
Messages
6,606
Location
St. Louis area
^ man alive, i love that torque your car makes!! i don't get why mine just won't do that..guess that bore, intake, and cams make a pretty large difference!
 

19mustang95

Wants another Mystic
Established Member
Joined
Jul 7, 2006
Messages
3,623
Location
Orlando, FL
^ man alive, i love that torque your car makes!! i don't get why mine just won't do that..guess that bore, intake, and cams make a pretty large difference!

or i could be the compression? with the higher compression it makes more power on the low end even before boost compared a car with 8.5:1 compression.. just my thoughts.
 

Got Torque

well do yah?
Established Member
Joined
Apr 6, 2005
Messages
1,694
Location
Vancouver
or i could be the compression? with the higher compression it makes more power on the low end even before boost compared a car with 8.5:1 compression.. just my thoughts.

That is true but I think he was comparing it against his setup which is also around 9.0:1.
 

red03dave

New Member
Established Member
Joined
Oct 5, 2004
Messages
500
Location
Arizona
I think it is just common sense though, you port your heads, use the sullivan, use shorty headers, they all lose torque but pick up horsepower...maybe the top end rush hits harder when it comes on to boost, maybe it doesn't, haven't been in too many other turbo cobras.
 

99riocobra

i like ice cream
Established Member
Joined
Nov 13, 2005
Messages
6,606
Location
St. Louis area
or i could be the compression? with the higher compression it makes more power on the low end even before boost compared a car with 8.5:1 compression.. just my thoughts.
yup, like Got Torque was saying i was comparing to the differences of our setups. i have 9.1:1 compression as well...
 

snakecharmer

Well-Known Member
Established Member
Joined
Nov 18, 2000
Messages
1,999
Location
Apex, NC
Interesting. I have the Mach I cams and a mild port job on the heads, and mine definitely makes a good bit more HP than it does Torque.
 

Turbo98

FR500TT
Established Member
Joined
Feb 9, 2006
Messages
1,142
Location
MIssouri
It's always been a huge argument--what wins races? Torque or HP? The Supras don't make big torque but are fast as heck.
 

Users who are viewing this thread



Top