• Welcome to SVTPerformance!

Will Nitrous 50 shot require tune revision?

Discussion in 'Power-Adders' started by demas, Jul 18, 2016.

  1. demas

    demas Member Established Member

    Messages:
    509
    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2015
    Location:
    IL
    Hey guys,
    I have a friend with A6 GT tuned by Lund who is about to N2O with 50 shot.
    Will he need tune revision from Lund or he can keep using the current one?
    If yes, do you know if Lund do that?

    Thanks!
     
  2. Dig Race

    Dig Race Member Established Member

    Messages:
    402
    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2015
    Location:
    Virginia
    I would ask Lund, but everything I have seen is 100 shot won't need a tune but anything more does. I also would waste my time with 50... That will get old the first time u hit it.
     
  3. 5lho

    5lho Active Member Established Member

    Messages:
    985
    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2012
    Location:
    Point Roberts
    You need a revision for any nitrous shot, particulary on a tuned car, which will have an aggressive timing curve. 50 you won't even feel. 100 minimum.
     
  4. jn2

    jn2 Member Established Member

    Messages:
    440
    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2016
    Location:
    Austin, TX
    50 wet shot will be fine, 50 dry shot you should ask your tuner, it really depends on well dialed in your fuel trims are right now. If they aren't within +/- 1-2% than you may throw some lean codes from a dry shot.
     
  5. 5lho

    5lho Active Member Established Member

    Messages:
    985
    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2012
    Location:
    Point Roberts

    If he was stock, maybe. But this is a tuned n/a car and I strongly suggest he not spray on an unmodified n/a aftermarket tune. Your friend should ask Lund directly.
     
  6. demas

    demas Member Established Member

    Messages:
    509
    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2015
    Location:
    IL
    Great guys! I asked Lund and they say I indeed need a tune revision.

    Thanks for your help as always!!
     
  7. jn2

    jn2 Member Established Member

    Messages:
    440
    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2016
    Location:
    Austin, TX
    Yeah he will prob remove a few degree's of spark advanced.
     
  8. demas

    demas Member Established Member

    Messages:
    509
    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2015
    Location:
    IL
    BTW, they told me they need to use my friends AEM wideband in order to data log. How do I use it for data logs?
     
  9. jn2

    jn2 Member Established Member

    Messages:
    440
    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2016
    Location:
    Austin, TX
    That should not be needed, the car has 2 factory widebands and the PIDs are supported by HPT and SCT. Also a single wideband would not work because there are 2 banks, you would have to have it attached at the X pipe which requires permanent modification.

    You sure about they told you that you would need an additional wideband? How do they know your friend even has a AEM wideband?
     
  10. Kiohtee

    Kiohtee On3 Is ChEaP jUnK Established Member

    Messages:
    9,176
    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2010
    Location:
    Yadkinville, NC
    Just curious OP, where did you and/or your friend get the idea it would be OK to spray any amount, any type of nitrous through the car with no additional tuning? :eek:
     
  11. demas

    demas Member Established Member

    Messages:
    509
    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2015
    Location:
    IL
    We didn't. That why this thread is open just to make sure :)
     
  12. demas

    demas Member Established Member

    Messages:
    509
    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2015
    Location:
    IL
    They didn't say I need another one but they say I need one in order to data logs.
    I'm not sure I understood how to use it. Would love to have some more instructions.

    Thanks
     

Share This Page