FRPP TVS Install

Imatk

Established Member
I know there are a lot of these online, but I figured I'd add one to the list.

I tried to get every single step, but I realize I didn't get the removal of the battery (which you do before anything else) and the removal of the fuel pump fuse to release the fuel pressure. But I think I have most of everything else.

This took about a day and a half because I did not have the correct bolts for the EGR.

For some reason the stock bolts did not fit the new blower, after asking here I got some help, and apparently the newer TVS units use the stock Eaton bolts, but the older ones that came out before do in fact use different bolts.

I'm not a mechanic by any means, but other than the bolt issue and some other electrical issues (not related to the install) it was pretty straightforward and fun :)

Ok on to the install!

1.jpg

My newly polished TVS waiting to be put on... aint it purrty!

2.jpg

Had to put the bypass valve back on the blower since it required removal for the polishing.

3.jpg

The stock Eaton in place with the FRPP CAI.

I didn't have any pics of removing the CAI but it's extremely simple and you basically just need to remove the two bolts by the air filter. You'll need a socket wrench, I don't remember the diameter, but I think it was 5/8. and the hose clamp at the top of the CAI and you're done.

Make sure you also remember to unplug the mass air sensor which is down closer to the air filter. There's no need to unscrew it or anything, unless you are using another CAI, just pop the clip and pull it off.

You'll also have to remove the PCV line from the engine to the CAI as well. You just need to squeeze the little tabs and it will come right off.

ThrottleBodyRemove.jpg

Removing the stock throttle body after the CAI removal.

There are four bolts here and the one in the back is a little tight, but not bad at all.

My bolts were allen heads, but I've seen others that were regular hex bolts.