Mechanical VS Electrcal

01Jes

Z06 bought with food stamps
Established Member
Well I'm here pondering on what gauges I'm gonna use. I work as a Avionic Tech on aircraft and electrical components. I see many failures on the electronic side even when componets are new. On aircraft we run both analog and digital on the dash just in case the digital read outs go bad we have Our redundant analog gauges. So I wanted to apply that on my dash for the available parameters, ie: fuel pressure and oil pressure, possible coolant temp Too.Utilizing two seperate isolators under the hood that would separate the fluids from entering the cab of the vehicle. My understanding that accuracy would be far superior than your typical electrical sending units that are prone to failure. Now I would still use other electrical gauges such as aeroforce to read other values ie: tps voltage, temp, iat2 and others. Just figured I'd have a both. Am I going overkill here?

04DeadShort

SVT Addict
Established Member
I'm not real sure how you can isolate a mechanical gauge to keep the fluids from coming inside the cab. That is just how the gauge works, off of pressure. If i remember right, the mech. water temp uses a copper coil setup via heat transfer. I have been using a electrical water temp gauge relying on a electrical sender. I still use a mechanical oil pressure gauge. Some people are opposed to this as it can cause a mess if it was to leak inside the cab. I do use all analog readout gauges, aside from my aeroforce. The thing to consider with a digital read out is that it has to take a analog signal input and convert it to a digital output readout. This involves more electronics that are prone to going bad. We use these in my manufacturing plant and rarely have problems. But we don't have lives to consider like you do a avionics.

01Jes

Established Member