• Welcome to SVT Performance, your home for all things SVT

Procal II Programmer

Discussion in 'SVT Shelby GT500' started by 6-Speed, May 27, 2009.

  1. 6-Speed

    6-Speed Member Established Member

    Messages:
    976
    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2007
    Location:
    Arizona
    Received my Procal II programmer for the Ford Racing CAI kit. It's not as sophisticated or as capable as the SCTs and the Diablos, but it's much nicer than the previous generation Procal. This one allows you to adjust for tire size, differential gear ratio and offers a 2-step octane adjustment. With the octane adjust - you initially set "N" and if you hear knocking, you re-program with "Y". You can also read/clear diagnostic trouble-codes with it.

    The instructions that come with the Procal II are pretty good, but lack pictures so I'll attempt to compensate for that.

    You can download the Procal II instructions from the following Ford Racing site:

    http://www.fordracingparts.com/calibration/default.asp

    [​IMG]

    There is a Multi Media Card (MMC) that comes with it - I suspect the performance calibration and perhaps any firmware updates are stored on that card.

    You have to pull the rubber boot off the bottom of the unit to expose the card slot.

    [​IMG]

    Then gently insert the MMC until it clicks into place.

    [​IMG]

    Here is the Procal II next to the original Procal.

    [​IMG]
     
    Last edited: May 27, 2009
  2. 6-Speed

    6-Speed Member Established Member

    Messages:
    976
    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2007
    Location:
    Arizona
    Here are some of the Procal II screens used while programming the PCM:

    Use this screen to select between the performance calibration and the stock calibration.

    [​IMG]

    This screen allows you to select user adjustable parameters:

    [​IMG]

    This screen allows you to adjust tire size in revolutions/mile. Made some speed checks against a GPS for a few settings and ended up dialing in 772, which is equivalent to an 82" tire circumference. The speedometer still read a tad higher (< 1 mph) than the GPS indicated speed with stock GY F1 Supercars.

    [​IMG]

    Once you select "Save Changes" it begins loading the calibration; you can actually see the load progress now....

    [​IMG]

    ... until it's done. I don't know what that warn light indicates, but everything seems fine.

    [​IMG]

    The green OK light comes on along with an acknowledgement that the "Performance Calibration" is installed once you cycle the key off, back on and select ENTER.

    [​IMG]
     
    Last edited: May 28, 2009
  3. kyl

    kyl Peanutbutter & Jealous Established Member

    Messages:
    1,174
    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2007
    Location:
    Arizona
    How much did that set you back?
     
  4. 03MUSCLE

    03MUSCLE 03 MUSCLE Established Member

    Messages:
    2,804
    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2005
    Location:
    San Diego, Ca.
    ya, how much for the programer?
     
  5. chuckstang

    chuckstang Active Member Established Member

    Messages:
    11,537
    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2004
    Location:
    New England
    Ford does not sell it separately I don't think

    They would not for me
     
  6. 6-Speed

    6-Speed Member Established Member

    Messages:
    976
    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2007
    Location:
    Arizona
    Ford Racing is now providing the Procal II when you purchase and register the GT500 SVT CAI kit or TVS supercharger kit. Right now Ford Racing will not sell the Procal II to previous owners of those products who have the original Procal tool. I am one of the later, so I purchased an unused Procal voucher from a member here and registered it on-line and requested the Procal. I received the Procal II the next day.

    In order to use the new Procal II, I had to restore my stock calibration with the old Procal and then re-program the performance calibration with the Procal II.
     
    Last edited: May 28, 2009
  7. Captain Beyond

    Captain Beyond Active Member Established Member

    Messages:
    2,808
    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2004
    Location:
    Texas
    I used this tuner when I installed my CAI a few weeks ago. It was so easy even I could do it. The car definitely feels stronger. :coolman:
     
    Last edited: May 28, 2009
  8. TERRY5357

    TERRY5357 New Member

    Messages:
    1
    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2014
    Location:
    Flower Mound, Tx
    Did it change trans pressure as in firmer shifts?
     
  9. TVS VERT

    TVS VERT Active Member Established Member

    Messages:
    2,830
    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2007
    Location:
    At Your Mom's House :)
    I have one of these laying around if anyone needs one PM me a good offer and its yours, it came with ford racing whipple 750hp kit
     
  10. Tob

    Tob Salut! Staff Member Super Moderator

    Messages:
    8,003
    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2009
    Location:
    The Ville
    Not on manual transmissioned GT500's which essentially covers all GT500's.
     
  11. stkjock

    stkjock Corn Powered 900 HP! Established Member

    Messages:
    5,730
    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2010
    Location:
    NY
    :dw:
     
  12. moncho

    moncho New Member Established Member

    Messages:
    223
    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2011
    Location:
    Out West
    Are you saying if you order a Ford Racing TVS once you receive it and register you get a Procal II? If so, does it come with a tune?

    No mention of it @ Ford Racing....

    http://www.fordracingparts.com/parts/part_details.asp?PartKeyField=23400

    Great write up and thanks for sharing!

    Cheers,
    Ray
     
    Last edited: Jan 15, 2015
  13. enormous

    enormous Member Established Member

    Messages:
    544
    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2012
    Location:
    Ontario Canada
    That only applies to Automatic transmissions.
     
  14. Tob

    Tob Salut! Staff Member Super Moderator

    Messages:
    8,003
    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2009
    Location:
    The Ville

    Ray, I may have mentioned this a long time ago but I have the FRPP CAI kit with a ProCal tuner and tune if you're interested. I used it for a season before changing to the FRPP Whipple/Procal kit. It provided a mild bump in power and had zero issues. Anyway, if you are looking for something like that just let me know.
     
  15. moncho

    moncho New Member Established Member

    Messages:
    223
    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2011
    Location:
    Out West
    Tob, appreciate the offer & I do remember that you mentioned you had the kit. What got my attention was 6-speeds following comment:

    "Ford Racing is now providing the Procal II when you purchase and register the GT500 SVT CAI kit or TVS supercharger kit. "

    In particular the TVS part of the above. If Ford Racing is selling the TVS and a Procal II comes with it that includes a tune, then this would be something for me to seriously think about.

    Thanks again!

    Cheers,
    Ray
     
  16. SCGallo2

    SCGallo2 Member Established Member

    Messages:
    706
    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2014
    Location:
    California, MD
    Ray, that post was from 2009 and it refers to this TVS kit: 2007-2009 MUSTANG SVT 605 HP SUPERCHARGER UPGRADE KIT M-6066-SGT*

    The 2013-14 TVS kits are "tuner" kits and require custom calibration.
     
  17. moncho

    moncho New Member Established Member

    Messages:
    223
    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2011
    Location:
    Out West
    SCGallo2,

    Major oversight on my part. Sometimes you see what you want to see & that was the case on my part.

    Thank you sir!

    Cheers,
    Ray
     
    Last edited: Jan 16, 2015
  18. GT Premi

    GT Premi Active Member Established Member

    Messages:
    4,893
    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2011
    Location:
    NC
    Haven't seen a Lazarus thread in a long time. Almost 5 years dead. Nice.
     

Share This Page