Your opinion on those SVT problems

Devileyes

Established Member
Hey, i am new in this SVT world. I bought a CSVT 98 few months ago and i need your help on few problems that i have :
1-Lack of power, i tested it on the quarter mile and got beated my a civic dx stock. I made it in 18 sec. There is no weird sound and the engine turn great.
2-A lot of heat in coming out just under the steering wheel.
3-I see the cel and ill have the code information by tomorrow.
4-over 80mph, i can feel vibration in the steering wheel.

all help and opinion are appreciate. Sorry for some english grammar and syntax problems.

beyondloadedSE

Established Member
SVT should be able to pull a mid 15 second pass stock without a problem and good driver. What was your 60' and trap speed?

Ive never noticed any heat coming out from underneath the steering wheel in my car and several other contours. :shrug:

CEL is probably a rich/lean code. Pretty common. Just about everyone that dynoed at SZ 06 without a tune, pegged the wideband rich after about 5,000 rpms and stayed that way up to redline.

Vibration is probably either an alignment issue, wheel bearing, or an improperly balanced wheel.

beyondloadedSE

Established Member
Devileyes said:
i made 1/8 in 10.235sec and react time of 0.34sec

it has a real lack of power, i have no idea what to check first....

60' time...not reaction time. reaction time has nothing to do with your 1/4 mile time. :p

Devileyes

Established Member
beyondloadedSE said:
60' time...not reaction time. reaction time has nothing to do with your 1/4 mile time. :p

hum, i dont remember that time...
i received a call from the dealer and he said that the CEL was because of one of the o2 sensor, but he doesn't think that has anything to do with my lack of power.

captainoblivious

Slow Vehicles in Training
Established Member
Go to Autozone where they can scan the CEL for free (or is Advance Auto)?