blew the motor, starting the re build MMR750

NewOrleans-YAT

Established Member
I blew my Kenne Bell Bullitt. I am currently pulling the motor. I ordered a MMR 750 rotating assembly with MMR custom cams. Block is going to Diamond Racing in Hammond La for the machine work. I am keeping the heads stock but I am rebuilding them my self. This is my first build and looking forward to it. I have read George Reid 4.6 rebuild book at least 12 times so far. The only thing that scares me a little is the getting the timing correct. I am only looking for about 500 HP. I have the suspension and brakes completed for track days at the NOLA Motorsports Park witch has a INDY track.

Any advice with the build is greatly appreciated.

Eric

jaxbusa

Established Member
How much hp did you have that blew the engine? Also, I would highly consider what ZEN357 said.

Sent from my iPhone using svtperformance.com

Three21

Established Member
I wouldn't go for TFS heads and intake for 500hp.

I'm currently reworking my stock heads now with some mild porting, TFS upgraded springs/locks/retainers, new valve seals and hand lapping the valves. Mine won't need any more than that.

Before breaking them down I flipped the heads over and filled the chamber with water then forced air down the ports to check the valve seats for leaks.

After pulling the springs check the valves for how much play they have in the guide. I had basically 0 movement on the intake valves and a tiny wiggle on all exhaust valves (clearance for heat+expansion) so mine were good to go. If you have excess movement you will need a machine shop to remove and press in new ones. If that's the case have them do a 3-angle valve job while they're at it.

Unless you lifted a head or overheated the engine you shouldn't need the heads to be decked.