Intermittent white exhaust smoke in 6th gear

dcdoug

SVT Rookie
Established Member
I've been more of a lurker on this forum and have solved most questions I had through reading the posts of others.:) This is for a bone stock (mostly, no engine mods) 2007 GT500. Over the past week I have noticed white exhaust smoke when in 6th gear and either going up a long grade or when off throttle or lightly on the throttle. It only happens occasionally and only lasts for 5-10 sec and then clears up. I haven't seen it happen in any other gear or when pushing it hard. I plugged in my code scan tool (INNOVA 3100) and there weren't any codes, although since it happened during a 100 mile trip home yesterday, it's possible they were no longer in memory I guess.

Any thoughts as to what this could be?

dcdoug

SVT Rookie
Established Member
i thought white smoke meant burnt coolant... but i am no expert.

Me too - usually head gasket. But wouldn't that happen a lot more often and be more likely to happen under higher RPMs? I don't see how there can be coolant leaking into the oil and then only blowing white smoke intermittently. But that's why I'm posting.

nxhappy

Established Member
white smoke would be burning coolant, you would notice low water levels in 1 of the tanks...also smells sweet like burning coolant ...blueish smoke would be burning oil, which is more likely. Sounds like the latter because you are noticing the smoke under load. That motor is known to get some oil in the intake tract, so a catch can is a good idea.

MastaAce03

Established Member
Gotta down shift buddy. Going uphill while under throttle shouldn't be happening in 6th gear unless you're doing 170mph.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Papaw

Established Member
I'll second the catch cans. They are a good idea even if that isn't the problem to your smoke. If they don't clear up the smoke, then a compression / leak down test is next.

dcdoug

SVT Rookie
Established Member