Issue with titanium tranny...

ElscottHavoc

It's all your fault.
Established Member
UPDATE: So, we got the car fixed...for awhile anyways. The grinding issue ended up being the front main support bearing (which the tech seemed to imply was basically the throw out bearing?). Anyways, now about week after driving the vehicle and around 2500 total miles on the car, the sound is back and once again, they're giving us the go around that the noise for now is normal. I'm an engineer, been around plenty of transmissions, and once again I'm holding my ground this is not right.

Interestingly enough, the tech seemed to act like he knew something was wrong not just in our car, but in the Focus line up entirely with this transmission but that he really wasn't in a position to admit it yet. He just kept repeating, these things would make some weird noises and that it's not really an automatic transmission, because it's a double clutch manua that just doesn't require manual shifting...my Cobra and junker driver manual don't sound like this though.

He also noted that there was another car (just one of many) that he had in the shop with a burned up clutch and that it was a 2012 model. I inquired how that other Focus in the shop with only 17000 miles could already have a burned up clutch, especially since it was an auto transmission and should technically not allow itself to burn the clutch out. He answered it wasn't really an auto transmission, and that it's a manual transmission shifted by a computer. Again, I said, why would Ford allow the computer to shift it in such a way that burns up clutches. He thought for a moment then said, Ford is constantly reprogramming things and will probably have a program to correct the issue. End of story, we're supposed to wait until the noise gets worse...but this is how it started last time.