Put MAC catback on without lift?

TopRacer

Why Yellow...? BECAUSE!!
Established Member
Is it possible to put a MAC 2 1/2 or 3" cat back exhaust on without a lift or do i have to take it to a shop to put it on?

How many pieces does it come in?

Thanks...

Blue03Cobra

The Family Dinner Improv
Established Member
I did the Flowmaster cat-back (four pieces total) on ramps in my garage without any problems...and I'm a novice. :-D

Hunter

Crazy Insane SVT Poster!
Established Member
I did my Magnaflow cat-back in my garage on ramps too. There were a total of 6 pieces with my kit. The two inlet pipes, two mufflers, and two tail pipes. I am also a novice, and it was an easy install.

SoCalBlk03

THE Clutch Killer!!
Established Member
The MAC catback I installed took 30 min. All you need is a floor jack, jack stands (so you don't kill yourself), a socket set and WD-40. The kit comes in 4 pieces. The mufflers are prewelded to the inlet and discharge pipes. The tailpipes are seperate and bolt to the discharge tubes just like the way the OEM H-pipe bolts up to the OEM cat back. Get it good and tight and it won't leak. WD-40 is for the hangers and will line up with minimal effort. Hope this answers your questions.

03blownvenom

Established Member
SoCal..Did your pipes fit correctly? I bought the MAC #4699 and one of the tail pipes sticks down about a half an inch further. I can actually stick my hand between the rear bumper cover and pipe. The other side is fine. Any suggestions?

The only problem I had was getting those darn rubber hangers loose..that's what took the bulk of the time. Come to find out my buddy has a special tool for these...go figure!

Last edited:

SoCalBlk03

THE Clutch Killer!!
Established Member
Mine fit fine, although people have commented that they thought the drivers side looked odd bevause of the way the pipe bends to clear the IRS.

mvc-004f.jpg

03blownvenom

Established Member