Quick Questions

SB Lightning

Young Buck
Established Member
Hey, I'm new to the 1st Gens but I got a couple of questions. Im 16 and I've been driving the 02 sence I got my licence, but my parents don't want me driving it because its "their" truck :p . So I thought about getting a 1st Gen, and maybe dropping a different engine in? or maybe making the 351? better. What do you think is a better idea...and lower cost would be good too. Also, any sites on mods for the 1st gens. Thanks in advance :beer:

ezernut9mm

CHAINED BLUE LIGHTNING!
Established Member
my mostly stock gen 1 may not hang with the 2 in pure excelleration, but it will hang with the 2 in twisties! might even out do it... they are fun trucks!

Lightning Kid

Lightning Addict
Established Member
Is that actually true that a gen 1 handles as good or better then a gen 2? I knew we weighed less, but still.

ezernut9mm

CHAINED BLUE LIGHTNING!
Established Member
oh yeah, don't let those guys fool you. the gen 1 will hang with the 2 in the corners. if you look at the hard numbers the gen 1 pulls a .88g on the skidpad and the gen 2 pulls a .85g. it's the straight line where they will spank us.

SlowSVT95

Banned
Established Member
Lightning Kid said:
Is that actually true that a gen 1 handles as good or better then a gen 2? I knew we weighed less, but still.
Yes it's true. I have a 95 and an 04 and the 95 definately handles better IMO. :rockon:

Lightning Kid

Lightning Addict
Established Member
ezernut9mm said:
oh yeah, don't let those guys fool you. the gen 1 will hang with the 2 in the corners. if you look at the hard numbers the gen 1 pulls a .88g on the skidpad and the gen 2 pulls a .85g. it's the straight line where they will spank us.

so all I need now is a supercharger. MUHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAA!!!!!!!!!!!. :burnout:

Oh yea, Is it posible for the average Joe to test the skidpad numbers? I have diferent tires then stock, and never had the stockers, wondering if it increased for me...