shorty or long ??? Headers

jumpincactus

Warriors come out to play
Established Member
what is the deal with shorty or long headers. In choosing a set of headers while waiting for my Borla catback to come in what do I need to look at in deciding which way to go. Give as much detail as you can please.... Thx

NetworkingGuru

Established Member
I am not an expert, but all of the car guys I know say that shorties are a waste of time. Since it's such a pain to install headers, they say shorties don't provide enough of an improvement to justify the time/expense.

Mac03Cobra

Texas Lightning Rod
Established Member
I haven't seen much gains reported from the long tubes either?

Especially considering the price and installation...

MoPony

Established Member
check the the search on lt headers people have said they drag alot on speed bumps and such

8UR VETT

Established Member
i am buying a pair JBA shorties because they flow better and unlike the long tube headers they are smog legal.

2F2F

[2 F]ast [2 F]urious
Established Member
Shorties
-------------------
1. Some are street legal.
2. Can be used with existing x-pipe.
3. Installation (unless self-installed) results in poor cost-per-HP/TQ ratio.
4. Smog check friendly.

Long Tubes
-------------------
1. Better flow = Greater potential HP/TQ.
2. Poor ground clearance.

I would go with shorties. But only because I live in CA.

sqidd

Established Member
The Bassani headders are a mid-length design. I saw the prototypes on Pauls (from PHP) car and they are definitly not shorties. The Bassani Xpipe is modular enough to work with the Mid's. I am waiting for this set. They should be out in December. Paul said a pullied car should gain 25hp.

sqidd

fakesnake.com

Established Member
I think the only concern on a non smog legal header is the visual inspection.

The headers are so tucked away and out of view I am assuming that no one would notice the Bassani mid length headers on a smog check.