Yellow Coolant not as Yellow?

Will's97

Established Member
I have about 500 miles on car and the yellow coolant for the engine is not a bright and new looking as the intercoolers. It is turning a dirty yellow/brown look. Is this normal?

ZXnVS

Established Member
I'm far from an expert, but that doesn't sound good to me. I'd take it to the dealer and insist they flush the radiator under warranty. If the new coolant turns dark, too, I'd start worrying.

Caveat: I've got the old green coolant in my Cobra, and I'm not familiar with this new yellow stuff. Maybe it's normal for it to darken, but if that were the case I would expect the intercooler fluid to do the same...

Cobra'03

Established Member
Neither the green nor the yellow are "regular" coolants - both are reformulated with lower silicates.

The Yellow is the advanced G5 formulation developed in Europe by BASF for premium manufacturers like M-B, Audi etc. Technically, it is a HOAT, tradenamed Glysantin. It is phosphate free. The main benefits of phosphate free coolants are:

(1) Cosmetics: Hard water reacts with phosphates in coolant to form scale deposits in overflow bottles. These deposits could form in other parts of the cooling system, causing blockage and overheating (see next part).

(2) Corrosion: Phosphates tend to aggravate any corrosion that might already be present with any aluminum parts in the cooling system. Aluminum Phosphate is formed, which is insoluble in the ethylene glycol solution of the coolant. The aluminum phosphate will tend to settle out in the cooler areas of the cooling system, causing blockage. This can cause overheating of the engine, which will accelerate the aluminum corrosion. In other words, the corrosion will tend to feed on itself until damage is done to the engine or the coolant is replaced (refreshing the inhibitors).