Coolant Flush. is DIY risking air bubbles?

LTHL VNM

Don't call it a comeback
Established Member
I've neglected flushing my coolant, and though it's a low miles car i feel it's time to do it. I've read horror stories about engines overheating badly due to air bubbles in the system after refilling. This would be my first coolant flush if i do it myself, so would ya'll say it's fine to do or should i take it somewhere (post suggestions)
If you suggest me doing it, any tips to avoid bubbles?
Also, while i'm doing this would it be advised to pick up an aftermarket radiator or is the stock unit found to be sufficient?
noob questions, i know....but this is about the only thing i've never done before :shrug:

Jimmysidecarr

Semi user friendly
Established Member
Thanks Jimmy!
So the stock unit is fine?

Keep the stock rad for now, if it's not leaking, don't replace it.

Later on after you get addicted to Open Track/HPDE we can revisit this topic depending on whether or not you are actually having cooling issues or not.

Now would be a very good time to install a Reische 170 T-stat.

LTHL VNM

Don't call it a comeback
Established Member
Good to know, thanks Jimmy!
And I've been running a 160* t-stat since 6k miles

Brutal Metal

Established Member
What makes you think some dumbass mechanic at a chain shop is any better than you at burping the cooling system? Just follow procedures and you'll be fine, especially a guy with your car knowledge.....
Also there isn't a 160 stat on the market properly designed for this car..

Jimmysidecarr

Semi user friendly
Established Member
What makes you think some dumbass mechanic at a chain shop is any better than you at burping the cooling system? Just follow procedures and you'll be fine, especially a guy with your car knowledge.....
Also there isn't a 160 stat on the market properly designed for this car..