Am I even a car guy anymore? Something is happening to me-

WeakSauz

Established Member
This is going to be long, but I’m kind of worried about myself. Since I was a toddler, I have been absolutely nuts about anything to do with automobiles. I mean NUTS. I’ve been wrenching on cars with my dad since I was around 7 or so. I literally built my first vehicle at the age of 15—my old 1968 F100 Shortbed truck. Life was awesome back then. I worked my can off during high school for two things—1.) to afford going out with my girlfriend and 2.) to afford parts for my truck. Simple.

When I graduated high school, I still had this old truck. With the BBF, it got about 8mpg at best. Since I was going to college, I knew I had to ditch this thing. There was no way I could afford this truck’s appetite in a college setting with rent, tuition, etc. So, regretfully, I sold it.

At the young age of 18, I made a decision that I can’t believe to this day. I decided to drive an ordinary vehicle for the 4yrs I was in college. Something that I didn't have to worry about. Something that wouldn't distract me from college work. A 2002 Ford Explorer beater w/ 200k miles fit the bill perfectly. With the profit from the F100, I could pay some tuition! Worked out great.

Fast forward 4 years. I've graduated. I've got a 9-5 job in Healthcare IT that I consider a career. I love it. I’m still rocking my old 2002 Explorer. It’s a champ. I could easily afford to jump and go buy a terminator, or a higher mileage GT500. If you would have spoken to the 18 year old me, it would be a done deal. Now, I cringe when thinking about spending that kind of $$ on something that is not a comfortable DD.