Why an IRS brace

homer302

Banned
I have searched so if the answer is here please just post a link.
I see that an IRS brace is one of the first mods people suggest. What I don't understand is why. I have had 5 8.8 rear end Mustangs and have raced them all without a problem. I understand that the Terminator has an independant rear but it's still an 8.8. Is it just that the Terminator has so much more horsepower than my previous 5.0 liter cars or what? I wouldn't think so cause the GT500 has 500 hp and I don't see anyone worrying about putting a brace on those.
Thanks for your help guys. I am just new to the whole Terminator scene.

xenodragon

Established Member
I dunno, but I have definetly had 2 diff leaks, and as soon as I put the diff brace on, it never leaked again

homer302

Banned
Thanks for the reply. What was leaking? Was something cracked or broken?
I also notice you have way more power than I do.
I just have a 2.93 and a tune. Maybe it's only needed when you up the power level?

Last edited:

dougwg

Established Member
A regular 8.8 won't do this
IRSFailure_Case3_Pic002.jpg

but a Cobra 8.8 will.

Thats why we make these
white-brace.JPG

Last edited:

CobraBob

Authorized Vendor
Established Member
Premium Member
Single Barrel Sirs
IMO this is a mod that is well worth the money you'll pay for it.

ac427cobra

FULLTILTBOOGIERACING.COM
Super Moderator
I have searched so if the answer is here please just post a link.
I see that an IRS brace is one of the first mods people suggest. What I don't understand is why. I have had 5 8.8 rear end Mustangs and have raced them all without a problem. I understand that the Terminator has an independant rear but it's still an 8.8. Is it just that the Terminator has so much more horsepower than my previous 5.0 liter cars or what? I wouldn't think so cause the GT500 has 500 hp and I don't see anyone worrying about putting a brace on those.
Thanks for your help guys. I am just new to the whole Terminator scene.