Any HVAC business owners in here?

alex3610

Established Member
Full time I am a firefighter, and it isn't nearly enough to make ends meet. A friend from work has a small HVAC business on the side that I have been helping him out with recently. After high school I was a shop boy/helper at a plumbing and heating place so I know a little bit, but no formal education in the trade. My buddy is licensed/insured etc. and operating a legitimate business.

My question is, where do you guys find most of your work? We rely heavily on word of mouth. We do mostly change outs of heat pumps and some gas furnaces, and then the every day service calls. We have played around with some advertising but it seems like it is all a scam. Ran an ad in a local paper, 6 month minimum contract. Learned an important lesson about commissioned advertising salesmen. Very poor return. I have actually gotten us far more business off free ads on craigslist. The val-pak mailers and such seem to be way over saturated with HVAC contractors. We are working on a web site, but it seems like the big players around here have all the top search results cornered. These guys do a ton of work but advertise like crazy on the tv and radio, probably spending $500k a year easily on advertising. Obviously we can't compete with that but we have very little overhead so we can usually beat them pretty good on price. Anybody got any tips they care to share? Thanks in advance.

Last edited:

NELCO

Established Member