Brake Pads?

KotnmthKng

Established Member
I am going to upgrade my brakes this month and Im wondering what the best pads for me are. I plan on getting the FRPP rotors from Summit. These are mostly just for looks. The car is my DD and Im just looking to get some good stopping power with minimal brake dust. I have been looking at EBC and Hawk, or do I not really need something this expensive? Also are SS lines worth it for me?

fiveo'cobra

Established Member
SS lines give you better pedal feel. If you do weekend tracking or some autox here and there they are deff a good investment. If its just your DD or your weekend drag racer, you won't even know the difference. EBC and Hawk make great hi-perf. street pads; you can't really go wrong with either. I would personally do Hawk because i've had lots of experience with them and they never disappoint.

5Litrarag

Established Member
For a pure daily I think the OEM Cobra pads are good enough. I think the EBCs and Hawks make too much dust.

caliboy08

Established Member
the stainless lines aren't a must, but they sure make the pedal feel more solid when you step on it.. as for pads, both hawk and ebc are good.. i ran hawk hps plus's.. a little dusty, but i washed my car once a week so it didn't matter..

scuzzdude2587

Established Member
If you're planning on road race/auto-x at all I would go with hawk HPSs, if you don't do anything but drag and street, OEM pads should be just fine and no need for SS lines.

Off-topic: Where did you guys get your SS lines from? I've seen people with Russell, but their site tells me they don't have any for the 96-98 Cobra, am I missing something?

909cobra

Established Member
get hawk ceramics. they work great. hardly any dust. hawk race pads or ebc race pads are better if you dont mind the dust.

SVT-98-

3 Stangs & an Olds
Established Member