Detailling/Cleaning a 04 MC

SaleenFiend

04 MC Cobra
Established Member
O.K. guys I'm new to all your lingo so help me out.

All I have ever really done my whole life to clean a car is hand wash with the sponges and mitts. I use a shammy to dry it off.

When I really feel like cleaning I will either clay it with the Meguiars kit and recently I tried the new NXT 2.0 wax. I normally just apply it with a normal yellow pad and remove it with a microfiber towel. Sometimes I'll use spray detailer.

I'm really interested in learning how to make these cars look good and just have a no Orange peel Look? I have always wanted to wet sand but don't know what it is or where to begin? What sand paper grit? What glaze?What rubbing compound?

From the beginning to the end can you guys explain what is good, what you recommend, how to do it? Whats the diff b/w the orange pads and what not? LOL sorry ?

You know somebody really needs to make a beginner's how to or sticky for this forum!

Last edited:

coolcobramatt

Mystified and terminated
Established Member
If you don't know what wet sanding is, you better pay someone to do it for you.

I just detailed my MC with Poorboy's SSR-1 and EX-P sealant http://www.svtperformance.com/forum...585-mystic-gets-poorboys-ssr-1-ex-p-bath.html

Both bottles nearly full. PM me if you want to buy them off me, they should be all you will need to get the look you want (will NOT remove the orange peel though, that does require wet sanding).

Last edited:

SaleenFiend

04 MC Cobra
Established Member