Looking at picking up a SVTF

VenemousShadow

Go Cats!
Established Member
Hey all, I'm looking at picking up an SVTF for a daily driver, I have seen a few 02 and 03s for sale and I am wondering if this might be a good daily driver? Most have between 50-80K miles and are around 7K. Are they reliable? Are they fun? Good in snow? I'd greatly appreciate your help guys/gals

97CasperCobra

Track is Crack
I'm just over 116K miles on mine, bought it back in 2005 with 32K miles. They are LOTS of fun and great daily drivers. They have their issues just like any car, i think the worst I've had with mine had been the compressor went out about 2 years ago but I knew a guy who worked at Ford to give me the parts at cost. I just did my timing belt back in Nov which wasn't too bad.....just a lot of time.

I've had no experience driving on snow.....Houston gets snow as often as the Astros go to the world series....lol.

Stevarino8

Established Member
The SVTF is a fun car and stylish to boot. Look out for the master cylinder they tend to go as a result of a design flaw. Use the 91 octane (or better) it will respond better than to do otherwise. The car is fairly hard to find and many are used as daily drivers. Due to the Ford consolidation world wide we may see the Focus RS in the States in a matter of a few years.

SVT_Trout

Established Member
Get one. I DD my 04 and have had next to no problems at all. I am just shy of 100k miles too. That car is bulletproof. I need to get some pics of it up on here.

CT SVT

Established Member
2004 is the best one. Ford fix all the problems with it. but all years are fine. great car. they love boost too.

4rd Toys

Polishing my SVTs....
Established Member
I have been avoiding winter use at all possible in previous years but this past winter I had to use the SVTF for the first time:
Using General's Altimax Snow/Ice tires 205/50 R17's and a 50-lb sandbag placed in the rear passenger's side cargo area, the car handled great!