Need grippier tires

Corepuncher

Established Member
I have Pilot Super Sports on my 2011 GT500/TVS. 20" rims. I was hoping that when it got hot out that they would grip good, but alas it seems these tires are no match for 630 rwhp.

They seem to grip very well around corners, but even in 2nd gear it's like ice when I hit the power band. I have to get to 3rd gear before I get good traction.

I assume smaller rims and larger profile tires would help, but I'm not sure I want to do that. So barring that, would I be happier with another brand, if so, which one? Thanks!

NightRide

Roll Racer
Established Member
Everybody loves the R888 even in larger sizes with a tiny sidewall though I have no experience with them. If it was me at that power level I would run a 15 with a big sidewall or first and second will be useless. If your set on a 20 NTO5r and 555r would be a better summer tire than what your running now.

PistolWhip

Resident Man Dime
Established Member
I love my Nitto Drag Radials. They wear pretty slow for a drag radial and they hook plenty for me. Then again, I don't ask a drag radial to do what a slick does on the track then get me 15k miles on the street. As long as the Nitto's get me 1.7x-1.80 60' times and still last 10k miles; I'm thrilled. 1st and 2nd are far from useless on a well prepped track with a descent driver behind the wheel and a good set of DR's out back.

I can throw the car into a turn and climb out of one just has hard without any fear of torching the tires with the Nitto DR's as well. I'm not a road racer by any definition of the term, but I do enjoy a spirited drive from time to time.

Last edited:

Para81

Established Member
Michelin Pilot Super Sports are the top rated tire among Porsche enthusiasts, all the GT3/911 owners swear by them.