need some advice

tjmpaintball06

Established Member
i have a 1995 cobra w/ flowmasters, and cold air intake. i ordered a steeda tri-ax shifter, bassani xpipe w/ cats and bassani headers.

Now my question is, could i beat a stock 1998 cobra? if not, what can i buy in addition to my current mods to smoke this guy (i dont have enough money for a supercharger or turbos). i dont really think that nos is the answer plus i heard if you ever get in a wreck ur toast. i just want to beat this 1998 cobra. i have not raced it yet so i dont know my current stance. Please help me out! O ONE MORE THING. What tires are best for stock rims? Im due for some new ones, i have cooper zeons on there now but i hear these nittos are really good. Whats the best tire?

MARK C

Established Member
No, I don't think you will beat a 98 Cobra,even with your new exhaust. Try some 3:73's,and get real good at shifting!
Nittos are great..I've have them on all 4 corners on my Cobra. Drag's in the back.

tjmpaintball06

Established Member
Are you telling me that there is no way to beat a 1998 cobra without forced induction?!?! What can i do to take on that car. I know there is a way. My shifting is fast enough, i will show this guy the meaning of the word fast.

Last edited:

99COBRA2881

Piss on Fox Sports1
Established Member
94-95 Cobra crank HP rating 240
96-98 Cobra crank HP rating 300

That's a very BIG gap to overcome.

"I will show this guy the meaning of the word fast"

Yeah, but youre going to have to spend some bucks to get it done. Good luck.

tjmpaintball06

Established Member
i figure with the exhaust and cold air intake that will add about 50hp right? that puts me at 290hp, then i figure im a much better driver. a steeda #18 cam claims to add 8-10 hp. I figure i can take him.

Pearbear

180 Lbs of Sad
Established Member
I don't think a CAI and exhuast will net you 50hp, that sounds pretty high, the cam will give you more power than the exhuast I would think.

MARK C

Established Member