Infamous tranny whine...

tjcase85

Established Member
Have a 2013 GT with 35k on it. Bone stock performance wise. Yesterday I banged a few gears (I'm very easy on my car) and now it has a very faint whine in 3rd and 4th. Still shifts smooth. Has a upr bracket on it. Should I worry? Some say it's normal, some say the tranny is dying. Would it still be under warranty?

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SM-G891A using the svtperformance.com mobile app

Paul.

Established Member
Mine whined right off the bat from Ford. They ended replacing it under warranty. Excessive mainshaft endplay - which is EXACTLY what I told them it would be, despite having to argue with the dealership idiots about it for weeks.

Ford service is terrible. I've had zero positive experiences. Ever.

nxhappy

Established Member
you could try some quality tranny fluid such as Asmoil....

hand-filer

Established Member
Consider trying Redline MTL. Mine was noisy in first through third gear from new and the Redline quietened it right down for 2 years of noise free driving.

Based on several glowing reviews for Amsoil Syncromesh I decided to give it a try and 2 weeks later the bearings went out. The replacement transmission is doing just fine on Redline MTL. I use Amsoil for just about every application but will not use it in an MT-82 ever again. It's too thin IMHO.

DaBigBone

Established Member
Id swap out to some Amsoil. Mine whined a little bit and that cleared it up. Now my rear end started whining though lol

StalkerStang

Established Member
Mine just started whining in pretty much every gear after my last track outing.

I didn't miss any gears but I shift it like I mean it...... Still shifts great, just makes more noise now.

CobraBob

Authorized Vendor
Established Member
Premium Member
Single Barrel Sirs