'01 Cobra vs Z28 Camaro

FastEddie59

English/Aussie/American
Established Member
I'm new to this so forgive me if I don't have all the mechanical details.

My wife took our '01 Cobra vert to the strip recently and went up against a 1999 Z28 1LE 6spd Camaro.

The Cobra was stock then except for an FIPK K&N Filter and a Steeda tri-ax just installed. The Camaro had a aftermarket catback and drag radials.

My wife edged out the Camaro at the 1/4 mile with a 13.89.

The best part of winning for her was the fact that she used to be a hard core chevy girl. She and her previous husband used to rebuild chevvies on the side for extra money. So this was a sweet victory indeed.... :rockon:

Last edited:

baylorbear98GT

Established Member
Welcome to the site!! She only turnea a 13.89? Good Kill. LS1's turn low thirteens bone stock so don't start thinking you've got a Chevy killer just yet!!

FastEddie59

English/Aussie/American
Established Member
32V GT said:
Welcome to the site!! She only turnea a 13.89? Good Kill. LS1's turn low thirteens bone stock so don't start thinking you've got a Chevy killer just yet!!

Thanks for the welcome... She is just learning about racing so she is not getting a big head or anything. She is just enjoying the trip. We are both learning about the small things we can do to mod the car. Next comes the first major job - subframe connectors!

BmoseleyINC

SVT Immortal
Established Member
That's awesome she is a ford woman now. The guy in the ls1 didn't run his best time possible, but she didn't run her best time possible either. It would be a very close.. :beer:

Cahill00SS

Established Member
but if you can't run faster than a 13.89 in a 6 speed Ls1 on DR's then you need to stop racing.

dfw99cobra

Established Member
Cahill00SS said:
but if you can't run faster than a 13.89 in a 6 speed Ls1 on DR's then you need to stop racing.

So his wife beat one of your beloved LS1's? BFD You need to relax.

FastEddie59

English/Aussie/American
Established Member