04 Cobra IRS "Swooshing" any Ideas??

TheOne2HotScott

Established Member
Hello Everyone...Newbie here, but not to the '04 Cobra. My first '04 Cobra I bought new off the showroom floor and she had the front bushing tsb done and the clutch "tube" tsb done at the same time just under 10k miles. Warranty work. Those are the only problems I ever had, other than that she was perfect and drove straight as an arrow.

Now, the 2nd was bought in '08 w/8k miles and flawless...I did notice the rear tires wore out, and the orig. owner said yeah I spun them. Who cares? right? So, I bought new rear tires and when I went to rotate them at 6k miles...they were wore out! I said no way! I don"t spin them enough for that! I got another set of rear tires and rotated them to the front and everything balanced and specifically asked the tech if anything was wrong with the rims...he said no. I've always noticed a vibration at 60-70 mph, especially on a incline, but goes away at 80+. 6k miles again, wore out...I just replaced the rear tires again last month. I had never driven the car in the rain in the nearly 3 years I've had it, but Friday my wife needed the daily driver and I drove the cobra...What I experienced! I almost,,,,,myself! The worst was at 65-68 mph, the best way I can describe it is-It felt like the rear had a mind of it's own, it felt like the tires were going right to left in a motion, but the car was still going straight, or felt like it. It felt like at any moment the rear was just going to throw the car right or left. I checked everything out today in the dry...drove her and it felt fine except around 63-68mph I could barely feel it, it must be more pronounced in the rain because I could only guess it is actually sliding back and forth. Now I know why my tires are wearing out.