1/4 times on Ford Gt

Gtturbo89

gtturbo89
I am new to this web site and this is my first thread. Here is my question, how fast does a stock Ford Gt run in a 1/4 mile. I was looking at motor week and they ran the Ford Gt 12.2. Can a Ford Gt hit high 11s bone stock.

Big 8

Established Member
They are all over the place?

Seen 11.2
Would say your most likely looking at 11.7 at around 128. Just too many out there to really call it?

Captain Beyond

Established Member
MM&FF did get an 11.0 at 131 mph in their May 05 issue. They even dipped into the high 10s with drag radials and a smaller SC pulley. However, they said that these mods probably hurt the performance more than help. The DRs were shorter than stock and the engine wasn't tuned for the pulley. These mods were playing mind games with the car's computer. I've also seen a few other mags get low 11s with a good driver. :burnout:
Just an example of what the GT is capable of. :bowdown:

Last edited:

lthlvpr

Established Member
The problem is that Ford ran a 'ringer' in the early mag. tests which is a little crappy, don't you think? They got everyone believing this car was a very low sec 1/4 mile car, but this car had an upgraded pulley and ECU so it was making significantly more power. As production began and magazines got their hands on other true factory GTs, the numbers you see now are more realistic. It is more likely a mid-high 11 sec car in the mid 120s for a trap speed.

GTSpartan

Yield right!!!!
Established Member
11.5-11.7 @ 125-127. Some of the early tests in M/T got 11.2 @131, but many people believe it was a "ringer" becasue it went up against the Enzo and CGT, which run the same times in pretty much every test by all the mags. I know many peole will kick and scream how it wasn't a ringer, but those seem to be rather significant manufacturing variations to have one car trap 125 and another trap 131.