1999-2004 modification questions

Burn'nRubber

Established Member
Well first of all, I would like to introduce myself. My name is Tyler and I am a freshman at Indiana Univeristy! This summer I plan on spending around 9k for either a 99-04 GT, 99-02 LS1, or 96-98 Cobra. Well here are my questions.

1) What will it take for a 99-04 GT to keep up with a stock LS1 or 96-98 Cobra? My guess would be full bolt-ons and 4:10's!

2) What vehicle would you recommend, and why?

3) What would be the biggest/safest shot of nitrous I could run on a bolt-on/stock 99-04 GT?

Thanks for your help:pepper:

Last edited:

KduncSS

Ille qui nos omnes servab
Established Member
Welcome to the site, and no matter what you pick, atleast your on the right track and getting some badass American performance.

answer 1) Full boltons plus 4.10's and a new edge GT can hang with an LS1 on the street. BUT all that does not guarnatee a win as a 6speed car would still pose a threat. On the track a bone stock 6speed would still probably have the better et, and trap at a higher mph.

answer 2) I would reccomend the LS1. I have had a 2000 GT, and while I loved the car, without MAJOR mods, it could not compete with modded LS1 cars. It is a fantastic platform and responds well to aftermarket parts. If going fast is your main concern, then an LS1 fbody is the way to go. The other choices are still very capable, just not AS capable. My second choice would be an SN95 Cobra. The 32 valve DOHC is also an awesome performer, and IMO the cars look wicked.

answer 3) With a tune, I would personally not go over a 125 shot. Untuned I would not go over a 100 shot. The stock block could PROBABLY handle 150 or so, but if you daily drive the car I wouldn't push it.

Burn'nRubber

Established Member
Well thanks for your help/suggestions silverstang00. Lately I really have been leaning towards the LS1 because of its performance. I still have awhile to decide, but I figured I would get some second opinions!