2.8 pulley tune help.

tire_fryin89

Established Member
Hey guys, Ive got a few questions that Ive been searching for answers for. Ive done some research only to get alittle confused. This is my first power added car so Im new to the boost world. Ok, first off, my car already has a 3.0 pulley on it now, it was on the car when I bought it. The car has 12psi now. Im wanting to put a 2.8 on it to run around 14psi. Ok, so I was looking at the UPR pulleys and they come with a chip to go along with the pulley install but, will my exhaust and soon to be CAI going to effect this? Should I buy a programer and download a tune, or should I just take it to a dyno and let them make me a custom tune? I know I sound like a dumby here but like I said, this is my first blown car and Im still new to it. Id appriciate any help you guys could give me to shed alittle light on the subject so maybe I can wrap my head around this.

04sleeper

Runs On "Liquid Gold"
Super Moderator
I would recommend getting a custom tune. Canned tunes can not take in to account the MAF placement.

Any time you move the MAF placement, it can throw off the A/F. So if you are going to install a CAI, then you will need to have the tune checked.

I would also look into another pulley if it were me, like Billetflow.

Romans8:28

Established Member
Usually a custom dyno tune still involves you purchasing a hand held tuner... (unless you use a piggy back chip)

The "custom" part is when the "tuner" programs your hand held with his/her altered file then dumps it to your cars computer via your hand held device while on the dyno

tire_fryin89

Established Member
Ok, so basicaly I install the pulley and CAI, buy a programer, and take it to the dyno and hand it all over to the "tuner" correct? Any programer that yall would recomend? Whats most commonly used?

03cobra#694

Good Guy
Super Moderator
I would recommend getting a custom tune. Canned tunes can not take in to account the MAF placement.