2001 engine removal

bent99

Established Member
Hi there I scored a 2001 cobra with a mere 8014 miles! The engine has a knock on start up like a dry start or something! Is it possible to remove engine and leave tranny in car ,the reason I ask this is I am gonna pull engine on my body shop lift (you know 3 feet off the ground lift)! It would be much easier if tranny can stay in! thanx for any help!

birdman941

Illiterate Proofreader
Established Member
You might want to consider dropping it out the bottom. (motor and trans)
3 feet should be plenty of room to do it that way.

wallie40

Established Member
yes it removes just like any engine. If you have a lift, maybe pulling out the bottom as a whole unit would be quicker.

-Paul

bent99

Established Member
I never really thought about dropping it out the bottom! Is it not possible to unbolt the bell housing and slide it foward to clear the clutch and pul it out the top! I work on cars for a living so I am at least alright on working on cars , I just have not crossed paths with a 2001 cobra yet! thanx guys

mustangman36578

Established Member
for these cars its a lot easier taking it out the bottom with the k-member attatched. all you have to do is unbolt the k-member from the car and the engine will drop right out. its the easiest way to install the engine too. there is a full how-to right up of it on the internet too. not sure where it is though.

im pretty sure you would have enough room to slide it forward to remove just the engine though. theres a good amount of room in the front of the engine.

Last edited:

quick01snake

Your View
Established Member