306 Turbo Build

Midnight306

Hey guys have a few questions for you :??:

Right now I'm a college student and living at home trying to build a brutal street beast for the weekends. I have a 302 roller block at the machine shop with plans of taking it 0.030" over next week. Now the questions...

Current laundry list of parts to go on it-

-gt40 Iron heads off of a 96' Ford explorer
-gt40 upper and lower intake, also off the 96' Explorer
-70mm mass air flow
-BBK shorty headers
-Under-drive pulleys

*Shooting for 450-500rwp*

1) I'm going for an affordable turbo build, either a 65mm or 70mm turbo. After talking with the machine shop owner he suggested an 8.0:1 compression ratio. Since I'll be running gt40 heads (64cc chambers?) which dish pistons should I run?

2) Which injectors would be best? I've read 36lb. and 42lb but for a daily driver, which would be best?

3) Already working on a 190 or 255 fuel pump, will an FPR be necessary? If so, what do I set it at?

4) What cam do I run on it? I've been reading up on overlap with turbo's so I wasn't sure what to run? Perhaps a b-303 or e-303, or go f-303?

I plan on doing all the plumbing myself and rigging up an intercooler myself also, custom fab work keeps me busy

Anything else I'm missing?

Thanks guys! :bowdown:

93sspcoupe

Established Member
i suggest a custom grind cam and a 60 65mm turbo. i think anything bigger than that is to much for your setup. and do atleast 42lb injectors and 255lph pump with a trex inline pump also. the 42lb injectors are good to 465flywheel hp and 90% duty cycle with a forced induction setup. that setup should net u 440hp wheel no problem

Svt KC

Established Member