4.6 4v Teardown & Build Thread

JB85

Established Member
Thought I would create a thread to show my progress on a teardown and rebuild of a 4.6 4v that I have in my garage. I recently posted that I just bought a 1996 Saleen, and my plan this winter is to take out the saleen motor and swap in the cobra motor. This is my first attempt any anything "modern" for me, as I was raised around 60's muscle cars and only worked on 1969 cougars and mustangs as a kid. I still have my fully restored 1969 cougar too. So to be honest, I am a little nervous to tackle something so modern with a shit load of wires everywhere.

so for this motor I have, I found it on offer up 2 years ago. I paid $800 for it. The seller said he blew his cobra motor in his 1997 vert, and the insurance company gave him the wrong engine 3 times, so he finally rebuilt his and by the time the insurance company delivered a cobra motor to him, he had no need for it. I'm hoping I didn't buy a massive paper weight that's been blown to hell and back. So I am going to start tearing it down this weekend to see what the internals look like.

Also, would appreciate any advice, but I noticed last night that the motor has a moroso oil pan, and a different set of header gaskets that are not factory. Is that by chance an oil pan for a turbo? it has a spot for an oil line, so I am hoping this motor wasnt raced. Is there any way to tell if the cams are not factory?

Attachments

• IMG_4117.jpg
    IMG_4117.jpg
    476.9 KB · Views: 247
  • IMG_4122.jpg
    IMG_4122.jpg
    448.4 KB · Views: 137
  • IMG_4121.jpg
    IMG_4121.jpg
    345 KB · Views: 127

gimmie11s

I Race Pontiacs
Established Member
Premium Member
Love me some motor builds. Enjoy it. Bag everything and label, makes reassembly much easier.

Staying organized is the trick to a successful/stress-free motor build.

JB85

Established Member
Love me some motor builds. Enjoy it. Bag everything and label, makes reassembly much easier.