6spd auto smg tranny in 06 Corvette

Skywarp

Established Member
Friend was building a car last night on the computer and noticed that this tranny was available. Unbelievable, what about the GT500?

GTSpartan

Yield right!!!!
Established Member
I thinks it's a regular slush box with paddles on the wheel. Kinda like the pontiac versions. If it was a real SMG, it would probably cost an extra 5-10k.

GTSpartan

Yield right!!!!
Established Member
bluetooth said:
this is a stuped question but what is a smg? Thanks.

I'm not an expert by any means, but I believe it means "sequential manual gearbox" Basically a computer along with hydraulics changes gears and matches throttle position with speed for each gear when upshifting/downshifting. Takes out all the error when compared to a regular manual and is far more advanced than a traditional auto.

Someone with real knowledge should chime in.

AbusiveWombat

Established Member
Think of an SMG as a true manual transmission without the clutch. Where a good driver will take ~0.4 seconds to shift gears, the SMG can accomplish the same task ~0.1 seconds with perfect rev matching.

bluetooth

Established Member
thanks. I can see were that would be expensive. I wonder if a continously varible trans would do well in a sports car?

drhyed

Established Member